Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2019, 04:59 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,406

My System Specs

Default

Nickel plating is just so that the copper doesn't tarnish and look brown. None of them have any notable performance impacts, so ultimately its just for looks. Usually your GPU is upside down anyhow so it's not like you even really see the block.

3L of coolant is insane, not sure why the EK tool is suggesting that. My loop is just over 1L, my dad and brothers PCs are just under 1L. And you can dilute it further if you need to, I'm probably 1.5L to a bottle of concentrate currently. Everything is only "recommendations"
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2019, 05:46 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,358

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Nickel plating is just so that the copper doesn't tarnish and look brown. None of them have any notable performance impacts, so ultimately its just for looks. Usually your GPU is upside down anyhow so it's not like you even really see the block.

3L of coolant is insane, not sure why the EK tool is suggesting that. My loop is just over 1L, my dad and brothers PCs are just under 1L. And you can dilute it further if you need to, I'm probably 1.5L to a bottle of concentrate currently. Everything is only "recommendations"

3L is insane for sure....considering mine is 1 3/4L but its a pretty substantial loop.....


Although the Backplate isnt necessary...considering the weight of the GPU Blocks and how ugly the PCB is..I think the backplates provides both rigidity (strength) for the PCB and looks better....agree with JD that it doesnt do much at all for cooling really.....
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 23.772K
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17562471
Timespy: 18.613K
MARK 11: 40.185K
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/13079691



.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2019, 06:51 PM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,598

My System Specs

Default

Good to hear about the coolant amount. And I don't think I'd be able to do the GPU without a backplate, even if it served no purpose other than looks! I have loved backplates on GPUs every since they were introduced and haven't bought one without a backplate since.

Now the question is... do I bother cleaning and flushing the AIO at all given I am decided to go forward with a custom loop, even if it takes a few months? The AIO is working fine and to me seems like a waste of coolant to flush it at this point, especially given the possibility I may use parts from it. I figure set up the 8700K system with the AIO as is and make sure everything works, leaving me more supplies on hand for custom loop and whatever parts I choose.
__________________
i7 4790K @ 4.5GHz (Swiftech H240-X) | ASUS Z97-Pro WiFi | 32GB Patriot Viper 1600MHz | ASUS ROG GTX 1080 Ti Strix | EX920 512GB, MX100 512GB, MX300 2TB, HDD 500GB (x2) | EVGA Supernova 850W G2 | Corsair 650D | Mayflower Electronics O2+ODAC, USB sound for mic, Sennheiser PC360 SE | Acer Predator X34, BenQ 21.5" | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2019, 07:22 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,358

My System Specs

Default

Cant imagine these without nice shiny backplates.....I like shiny stuff ;)





I always set up on my bench and test ...even install all drives and OS...make sure no issues with HW prior to going in the case ....I used a Corsair H60 for bench testing...YES test everything first if you can.....






My "boxes"...its always like Christmas:








The Hyper T2 was a mistake !!!! I was going to use it to bench test....the mounting was brutal....so I ditched that idea and went with the H60 Corsair....I'll keep it just for Bench Testing...


Your AIO...flush it and clean it ...why not....either sell it or keep it for Bench Testing....if anything a chance to "Muck About" with it
Forgot to mention the one "specialty tool" I have is a Hose Cutter....cuts nice and clean leaving perpendicular end with no tapers or jaggies....cant remember where I got it.....maybe Home Depot ?....I tried sharp shears at first but always wound up with a taper in my end......no good for my OCD
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 23.772K
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17562471
Timespy: 18.613K
MARK 11: 40.185K
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/13079691



.

Last edited by rjbarker; January 9, 2019 at 07:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2019, 09:14 AM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,598

My System Specs

Default

Love the pics! Did you have a pic on here yet of your 9900K build finished with custom loop or is it not done yet? Sorry if you told me that already.

Been watching some "how to build custom loops" videos on YouTube. Starting to feel braver and that there is less "black magic" involved than I originally thought!

Had a question about fittings: compression fittings, the end that goes towards the tubing, those are just finger tight it looks like in most videos. But what about the end of the fitting that is in the blocks/pumps/res/rads? Do you actually do a small tightening on those with a wrench or does it just depend on the fitting? Looks like, from pics, that some can receive a wrench and some look only the same as the other end tube portion, suitable for finger tight.
__________________
i7 4790K @ 4.5GHz (Swiftech H240-X) | ASUS Z97-Pro WiFi | 32GB Patriot Viper 1600MHz | ASUS ROG GTX 1080 Ti Strix | EX920 512GB, MX100 512GB, MX300 2TB, HDD 500GB (x2) | EVGA Supernova 850W G2 | Corsair 650D | Mayflower Electronics O2+ODAC, USB sound for mic, Sennheiser PC360 SE | Acer Predator X34, BenQ 21.5" | Windows 10 Pro

Last edited by Lysrin; January 11, 2019 at 10:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2019, 01:39 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,406

My System Specs

Default

The fitting to the block I usually give a 1/4 turn with pliers after its finger tight, otherwise there's a chance of it coming loose when you screw on the compression. At the same time though you don't want to over-tighten anything and damage the o-rings as you'll have leaks.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2019, 02:38 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,358

My System Specs

Default

- Fittings to Blocks / Rads..."hard" finger tight...I dont use pliers...as JD pointed out be careful not to crush O Ring (being overzealous)
- I place the rubber tube (ends or short length) in extremely hot water or run under a tap to "soften"...slips over bard without a ton of force....
- a little "spit" on your finger..rub on the outside of the tubing right where the compression fitting starts to thead on....a little lube from your spit will allow easier tightening.....


The tips of my fingers always feel a little "tender" after I finish my Loop...like when I used to Commercial Fish for a living and mend net with small meshes...


Completed Build pics here I believe...


https://www.hardwarecanucks.com/foru...i-e-9900k.html
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 23.772K
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17562471
Timespy: 18.613K
MARK 11: 40.185K
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/13079691



.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2019, 04:52 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,406

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
The tips of my fingers always feel a little "tender" after I finish my Loop...
Yeah that's why I end up using pliers. Usually I'm taking off all the fittings first and by then my fingers have had it. I have no finger strength by the end of it all
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2019, 07:32 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,358

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Yeah that's why I end up using pliers. Usually I'm taking off all the fittings first and by then my fingers have had it. I have no finger strength by the end of it all

Taking the Fittings off I have to use pliers initially to loosen....those Bits Power Fittings are definitely hard on the fingers tips .....
........when I first built my Loop 5 yrs ago I was so paranoid of scratching the black paint on the Fittings from my pliers (wrapped plier jaws with Duct Tape....couldnt find rubber coated needle nose pliers).....now I dont care ....if there scratched up...even the aesthetics of the build isnt a big concern anymore......
......its the final load temps that matter to me... ....I dont think I would have the patience for Hard Tubes...
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 23.772K
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17562471
Timespy: 18.613K
MARK 11: 40.185K
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/13079691



.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2019, 08:25 PM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,598

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I read a lot of other comments in my research about being prepared to have less skin on your fingers after loop work! You guys are confirming!

Thanks for that link of your build rj. I knew I had seen it, even commented, but couldn't find my way back.

Don't you think you need a new case? just joking just joking!
__________________
i7 4790K @ 4.5GHz (Swiftech H240-X) | ASUS Z97-Pro WiFi | 32GB Patriot Viper 1600MHz | ASUS ROG GTX 1080 Ti Strix | EX920 512GB, MX100 512GB, MX300 2TB, HDD 500GB (x2) | EVGA Supernova 850W G2 | Corsair 650D | Mayflower Electronics O2+ODAC, USB sound for mic, Sennheiser PC360 SE | Acer Predator X34, BenQ 21.5" | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Custom Loop in Desk Jonesy Water Cooling 4 September 26, 2012 04:31 PM
Just setup my first Custom Loop Birk Water Cooling 10 January 15, 2012 08:26 PM
Deciding on a new Case & Custom Loop siegfx Water Cooling 16 January 3, 2012 11:37 AM
custom or closed loop? help me decide which one is right for me. Pabz0r545 Water Cooling 15 November 3, 2011 04:45 PM
120.1 Custom Loop vs Corsair H70 PriceMatch Water Cooling 16 December 26, 2010 06:31 PM