Go Back   Hardware Canucks > CASES & COOLING > Water Cooling

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2018, 07:52 AM
LegendMask's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 119

My System Specs

Default Hard Tube to a Bay Reservoir?

This is probably a silly question but couldnt find it discussed in this forum.

Usually when I fill my loop through the bay reservoir, I move the reservoir out of the case by a couple of inches so that I can fill it from the top.

Now Im planning to switch to a hard tube for a change and was wondering how can I move the reservoir when its hard tube from the inlet/outlet at the back?

Or is it better to switch to tube reservoir in this case?
__________________
Earth is Full, GO Home!!

eBay: kalsharabi - HeatWare: LegendMask - HWC: LegendMask
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2018, 07:56 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 9,126

My System Specs

Default

You can't.

If your reservoir doesn't have front fill ports or you can't reach the ports w/o removing the reservoir you can't use it. The tubing can't have any force but on it or it will eventually crack.
__________________
The Crippled God WIP
Queen of Dreams WIP
Big Lian Li
Complete
Forever Alone Complete
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2018, 07:57 AM
Bartacus's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ottawa, Canuckistan
Posts: 450

My System Specs

Default

I'd consider using soft tube for the bay res connection, but hard tube the rest of the loop. If you can hide it, it will be the best of both worlds. Hard tube is a pain for stuff like that. Looks sweet, but it really limits you in several key ways.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2018, 08:15 AM
LegendMask's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 119

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for your help guys, I guess I will have to decide either a bit long soft tube from the reservoir then connect it to a hard tube through fittings and hide the soft tube.

Or just go with a tube reservoir.
__________________
Earth is Full, GO Home!!

eBay: kalsharabi - HeatWare: LegendMask - HWC: LegendMask
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2018, 09:29 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,863

My System Specs

Default

Are you still rocking the 800D? If so, how about putting the bay res in the lower two bays? That should give you enough access to the top of your res to allow you to fill with the cover above it removed. That's how I typically do mine, but then again, I've got a small funnel that threads into the fill port and then fill that using a dish soap bottle.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2018, 10:10 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Are you still rocking the 800D? If so, how about putting the bay res in the lower two bays? That should give you enough access to the top of your res to allow you to fill with the cover above it removed. That's how I typically do mine, but then again, I've got a small funnel that threads into the fill port and then fill that using a dish soap bottle.

best way is use a syringe with a tube to fill rez in a tight spot

also can use it to suck-up spilt fluid by pulling back plunger


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2018, 02:01 PM
LegendMask's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 119

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Are you still rocking the 800D? If so, how about putting the bay res in the lower two bays? That should give you enough access to the top of your res to allow you to fill with the cover above it removed. That's how I typically do mine, but then again, I've got a small funnel that threads into the fill port and then fill that using a dish soap bottle.
Yup still rocking the 800D, that sounds like a great idea.... Been really busy lately at work and my brain is kinda lacking common sense

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
best way is use a syringe with a tube to fill rez in a tight spot

also can use it to suck-up spilt fluid by pulling back plunger


My man its been a while.... still using all those syringes


I was planning to still keep my bay reservoir, but since Im not gonna build a new PC Im kinda trying to find excuses to replace anything I can in my build

So far Im shopping for GPU if I can get lucky and find something with decent price, and switch to hard tubing for my water cooling
__________________
Earth is Full, GO Home!!

eBay: kalsharabi - HeatWare: LegendMask - HWC: LegendMask
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2018, 02:44 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,863

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LegendMask View Post
Yup still rocking the 800D, that sounds like a great idea.... Been really busy lately at work and my brain is kinda lacking common sense



My man its been a while.... still using all those syringes


I was planning to still keep my bay reservoir, but since Im not gonna build a new PC Im kinda trying to find excuses to replace anything I can in my build

So far Im shopping for GPU if I can get lucky and find something with decent price, and switch to hard tubing for my water cooling
IIRC my last TT case only had access through a single 5 1/4 bay above it... t'was a bit of a pain as I had to use something really short (in this case a dime) in place of the screwdriver to remove the port plug even before I started trying to get at it for filling... :)
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2018, 09:38 PM
The Great Gazoo's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: BC Lower Mainland
Posts: 136

My System Specs

Default

I have 800D and put my two bay EK rez in the lower two bays. I used a funnel with a long skinny neck to fill from the top port. Worked great - just pull the front face off of the case and you have more room.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2018, 12:02 AM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 718

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Great Gazoo View Post
I have 800D and put my two bay EK rez in the lower two bays. I used a funnel with a long skinny neck to fill from the top port. Worked great - just pull the front face off of the case and you have more room.

This. Depending on your exact reservoir, you likely won't be able to top fill if the res is in the uppermost bays. If you have it in bays 2/3 or below, no problem to fill it with the front panel off. If you absolutely want it in the top bays, you may be able to fill it with some difficulty if you temporarily remove the front I/O panel (2 screws). Reservoirs like the Koolance one I've been using have front fill ports as well which makes it easy.

__________________
MSI GT72 6QE-033US - 6700HQ, GTX980M, 1080p G-Sync IPS, 16GB DDR4, 1TB Evo 850 SSD, 256GB Toshiba SSD, 2TB Barracuda, BD-Rom/DVD-RW
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12mm vs 13mm Hard Tube Fittings bjcsoln Water Cooling 5 May 2, 2017 08:18 AM
[WTB] Hard Tube Fittings/cpu block/pump res (tube) zoinky Buy/Sell & Trade 0 April 18, 2017 05:41 AM
[WTB] 60mm acrylic tube (reservoir) CTA Buy/Sell & Trade 0 September 30, 2015 02:35 PM