Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2019, 11:51 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 440

My System Specs

Default Bottlenecking

Hey guys, So as you might know ive upgraded to a 1080ti. Im trying to sell my 980ti locally but im not getting any bites (might be shooting to high but anyway..).

Im thinking of keeping it to add to my rendering devices in my 3d software that supports multiple gpus as long as they are cuda enabled.

Then I thought that wait! My current setup might bottleneck a second gpu (see system specs).
I tried that bottleneck calculator site and its even saying that my 1080ti has a 10% bottle neck ( which is false as im able to run at 100% gpu usage)

Im pretty sure you're problably like "pop it in and try it FFS! :P"
Problem is that I would need a better PSU with more power cables and more power to even test it.

I was thinking someone might have an idea before I break out my already abused credit card for a new PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2019, 12:29 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,771

My System Specs

Default

To clarify, you want to add the 980Ti in the same system as the 1080Ti for rendering? If that is correct, then definitely a new larger PSU is required.

As for your setup in gaming, the 1080Ti would be marginally faster with a new CPU, but not at all a problem unless you WANT to upgrade, or WANT new platform features.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2019, 12:38 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 440

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I want to add it with my 1080ti in the same system. For sure I will need more power but will my cpu handel them both. im thinking not..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2019, 01:35 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 3,859

My System Specs

Default

Personally? I'd lower your price and sell it, unless you honestly thing you're going to recoup the cost of the resale + new PSU in time-savings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by danmitch1 View Post
Then I thought that wait! My current setup might bottleneck a second gpu (see system specs).
I tried that bottleneck calculator site and its even saying that my 1080ti has a 10% bottle neck ( which is false as im able to run at 100% gpu usage)
Thats not how bottlenecks always work. Your GPU can still run at 100% usage, and you can have lower frames if you're CPU bound. You could also have a 100% CPU load, and GPU load, and you wouldnt know which is throttling your performance...There is no "X bottlenecks Y" clear answer, and different workloads do different things. Simply put, dont trust that calculator worth a damn.
__________________
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2019, 01:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 17
Default

In the past I used smedge to do distributed rendering in the office. We bought a massive pile of 8800GT cards when they were being cleared out from inventories and I think we have one that is actually still alive. Most people didn't need a video card for anything more than dual monitor support. It might be worth considering depending on what your rengering out and from what especially if you have other spare parts laying around.

Eventually I did get the budget to build a much more powerful desktop for render bench marking but it took overclocking and other things to make that one machine come close to my crappy clusters of desktops.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2019, 02:33 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,771

My System Specs

Default

From a GPU rendering point of view I think the 3770k should keep up fine, however, it is going to be application specific.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2019, 02:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
From a GPU rendering point of view I think the 3770k should keep up fine, however, it is going to be application specific.
This is actually something you need to test specifically. Is the software your using heavily GPU bound or CPU bound. You should be able to get an idea if the extra GPU power will even help in the first place by watching your CPU and GPU loads while rendering, just because it is 3D doesn't always mean it is properly leveraging the GPU and is worth testing.
__________________
2700X Heatkiller, CH7 Hero, 1080ti Heatkiller, 32GB Ram, 2x500GB WD Black NVMe, Dual 1080 rads, dual D5S pumps.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2019, 05:28 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 440

My System Specs

Default

I will most likely lower the price and get rid of it. But worst case scenario, if It just wont sell at an acceptable price I might benefit more from faster renders.

So bassically there is no way of determining if your gpu is bottlenecking unless someone is using the exact same system configuration and software but with a better cpu. Is that basically it?

The software im using is 100% gpu driven, while rendering the cpu is barely 20% average use on all cores while the gpu is at 100%.

Having the 980ti installed would only serve that one application. More cudas = faster render, only downside to using the 980ti with the 1080ti is that the software will only use 6gb of memory and not a combination or even the 11gb on the 1080ti.

As for just the 1080ti, I ran a furMark 1440p preset test with the 1080ti and averaged 120fps. Good? Cant find anything to compare it with.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2019, 07:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 17
Default

1080ti 1440p preset
Max GPU Temp: 36C
FPS: min:104, max:111, avg:109 - OPTIONS: DynBkg

4k
Max GPU Temp: 38C
FPS: min:61, max:62, avg:61 - OPTIONS: DynBkg

Fans were on low so temperatures higher than they could be, and GPU is on stock setting right now.
__________________
2700X Heatkiller, CH7 Hero, 1080ti Heatkiller, 32GB Ram, 2x500GB WD Black NVMe, Dual 1080 rads, dual D5S pumps.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2019, 07:52 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 440

My System Specs

Default

So then im doing ok, 2700x seems to be much better than a 3770k.
But then will it have enough guts to add the 980ti
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is bottlenecking my rig? sakage.shinga Troubleshooting 7 December 28, 2012 12:05 PM
965 bottlenecking in BF3? great_big_abyss CPU's and Motherboards 12 February 11, 2012 09:52 AM
Bottlenecking JJThomp Video Cards 6 February 8, 2011 12:01 AM
BottleNecking? Chromey Video Cards 10 April 6, 2009 05:36 PM
What do you suppose is bottlenecking this PC? LookAQuesadilla Troubleshooting 14 April 30, 2007 09:16 AM