Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Video Cards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2009, 12:07 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,153

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Damn impressive clocks on that GTX285 SSC edition
Wow...no kidding, I wonder what kind of OC's these will get..could be as much as 770 Core and 1375 Memory!
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 21.452
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14167916
MARK 11: 32.530
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/12496075

Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2009, 12:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 13
Default

the price makes me sad :(
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2009, 12:24 PM
MonsterSound's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: YYZ
Posts: 690

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikenogo View Post
the price makes me sad :(
Me too, but this is the 1st day, and that usually means high prices.
The great thing about video card tech, is that as the rate of development is so fast (and the competition is fierce) that soon the prices will come down. :)
__________________
Code:
 my Heatware,  RFD &  eBay
MAIN: i5 3570 @ 4.5Ghz wH100 / evga GTX780 SOC / MSI Z77A-G45 / 8gb G.Skill 2133 1T / 30" 2560x1600 / Antec P280 / PCP&C 950w / Intel 520 SSD 240gb / Eclipse / G3-Lazer / z5300 / Win7 Pro64 / APC Xs1300
HTPC : nMedia6000B / AMD X2 4400+ / M2A-VM / Corsair 4GB 800 / LiteOn Blu-Ray / 8800GT / Samsung 46"LCD / 2x2TB / OCZ500 / ATI550 / Wrless Kbrd & Rmte / z-5500 / Win7Pro / APC700
"You must be the change you want to see in the world" 
- Mahatma Gandhi  
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 10:35 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,296
Default

Just to confirm, this IS the same as the 280 except a 55nm GPU and higher clocks? Is the PCB the same?

I just got a 280 a week ago and am trying to get a feel for if I'm going to use the Step-Up or not. If this is just a higher clocked 280 then it hardly seems worth it for the price diff., I can just put my 280 on water and OC it. Those 295's have my interest too.
__________________
i7 4790K @ 4.8GHz w/EK Supremacy Evo
MSI z97 Gaming 5
2x 8GB Gskill Sniper 2133 @ 2400MHz
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Still rockin' the Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 11:12 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,153

My System Specs

Default

Biff...is your 280 vanilla or other Edition? My experience with the SSC's is no problems at all getting to present OC's 710 / 1458 / 1260 (x2) on air with reasonable Temps (Max out at 71c on All Enthusiast 1920 x 1200 Warhead. One thing I have found with these Cards, although they are rated for high Temps, in my experience, anything above 75c results in artifacts in demanding games such as Warhead.
Personally, I would hang onto any 280's or 260 (Core 216) until the 3xx Series are out this spring / summer. I really think the gains you would see would not be worth the hassle of the Step-up.
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 21.452
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14167916
MARK 11: 32.530
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/12496075

Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 11:40 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,067

My System Specs

Default

The performance gains would negligble in some areas, but the 285 with its high clocks show some gains.

Although as sky said:
Quote:
Clock for clock, this is the same card as the GTX 280. There is no need to have tests to show this since the Nvidia documentation explains it in plain English. The entire point of this card is to showcase the 55nm manufacturing process with a card that can clock well while getting by with less power consumption.
EE

Last edited by Eagle Eye; January 16, 2009 at 11:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 11:54 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,296
Default

It's the vanilla version says the part # but core clock rivatuner reports doesn't match. IIRC mine is 624MHz or 642MHz, not the 602MHz it's supposed to be. I can't remember exactly, not sure about the other clocks either. I'll have to recheck when I get home. Does the 285 have the ram chips on the back of the PCB too?
__________________
i7 4790K @ 4.8GHz w/EK Supremacy Evo
MSI z97 Gaming 5
2x 8GB Gskill Sniper 2133 @ 2400MHz
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Still rockin' the Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 12:13 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,634
Default

The PCBs on the old card and the new GTX 285 ARE NOT the same.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 10:02 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
Biff...is your 280 vanilla or other Edition?
I have the vanilla version (01G-P3-1280-AR) but riva tuner reports the clocks as 621/1350/2268 which are NOT what they are supposed to be. But doing a little research these clocks match the Superclocked version (01G-P3-1282-AR). WTF!
__________________
i7 4790K @ 4.8GHz w/EK Supremacy Evo
MSI z97 Gaming 5
2x 8GB Gskill Sniper 2133 @ 2400MHz
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Still rockin' the Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 10:42 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,067

My System Specs

Default

What about GPU-Z biff, similiar? If they're not looks like you got a SC edition instead nothing I'd complain about.

EE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accelero S1 - Stock TIM or AS5 ? mattydies Air Cooling 3 February 14, 2008 09:27 PM
What is Stock Voltage? mattydies Video Cards 10 October 19, 2007 09:01 PM
HD2950 in stock !!! Shadowed Rumor Mill 5 October 3, 2007 06:11 AM
Dry ice , ln2 - stock in canada ? hausner Troubleshooting 23 May 22, 2007 08:52 PM
Amd cpu stock... omgwtf CPU's and Motherboards 7 April 12, 2007 06:07 PM