Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2019, 01:56 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,771

My System Specs

Default

Hmm interesting, so maybe you are in a similar situation as me, somehow, even though you didn't tinker with anything

If you want, PM me a link to your BIOS and I can run through the UBU steps on it and send you back the modified BIOS.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2019, 03:59 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chilliwack...Time Is Just A Rubber Band....
Posts: 645
Default

Check out this link https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...rocode-updates


Maybe while running single core you can apply the correct update and all will be well. Don't give up on it just yet.





It would also be interesting to see if enabling single core + HT would act up or not. Hopefully when you tried multi core it didn't corrupt anything. At least it seems you have a path forward and some light at the end of the tunnel. It couldn't be a train coming could it?...
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2019, 07:38 PM
Prolab's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brampton
Posts: 507

My System Specs

Default

Thanks JD for the offer.

Ill try what Valkyrie mentioned and see if I dont have to deal with modifying the BIOS.

If not, ill send you a PM.
__________________
Gaming Rig:(2)Swiffy MCP35x, (2)Aphacool UT60 480 rad, (1) 360 & 240 HWL GTS, Heatkiller IV, 5930k @ 4.4 GHz, Asus X99 Deluxe II, (2) NVidia 1080 w/ HK IV blocks, Crucial P1 & Samsung EVO 850 500GB, (4) 3 TB & (1) 5 TB Toshiba HD, EVGA 1300 PSU, Win 10 Pro

HTPC Rig: 4670k @ 4.4Ghz, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, D5 vario w/ EK top, 480 XSPC RX, 240 HWL GTX, Asus 290 w/ XSPC WB, Kingston 240 GB SSD, 5TB Toshiba HD, 2TB Samsung F4, 6TB & 8TB HGST, Enthoo Primo, EVGA G3 750 PS, Win 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2019, 04:17 PM
Prolab's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brampton
Posts: 507

My System Specs

Default

I manage to have time to play around with the issue.

And i followed Valkyrie's suggestion and enabled HT using a single core. So far no problems. Managed to repair and fix my issues. I enabled the other cores one at a time and i found the culprit. Core #4 when enabled, triggers a BSOD no matter what. So, i turned that off and enabled the other cores with HT. Able to OC, do a stress test on the CPU and no BSOD.

Im going to play some games and do a bit of mining for the next 24 hrs and see where this goes.

With Core #4 triggers a BSOD, does that mean my CPU is finally degrading?
__________________
Gaming Rig:(2)Swiffy MCP35x, (2)Aphacool UT60 480 rad, (1) 360 & 240 HWL GTS, Heatkiller IV, 5930k @ 4.4 GHz, Asus X99 Deluxe II, (2) NVidia 1080 w/ HK IV blocks, Crucial P1 & Samsung EVO 850 500GB, (4) 3 TB & (1) 5 TB Toshiba HD, EVGA 1300 PSU, Win 10 Pro

HTPC Rig: 4670k @ 4.4Ghz, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, D5 vario w/ EK top, 480 XSPC RX, 240 HWL GTX, Asus 290 w/ XSPC WB, Kingston 240 GB SSD, 5TB Toshiba HD, 2TB Samsung F4, 6TB & 8TB HGST, Enthoo Primo, EVGA G3 750 PS, Win 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2019, 05:09 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chilliwack...Time Is Just A Rubber Band....
Posts: 645
Default

So core 4 can't be made stable at stock or lower clocks and stock or higher volts?


If so, maybe your CPU is degrading, but as per your sig you have good cooling and fairly mild OC. Were you pushing volts hard to get that OC? It's possible it just had a marginal core that managed to sneak through screening.


I guess at any rate 5 core/10 thread OC'd will get you by for a while and take the pressure off to leap to something new.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2019, 05:34 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,863

My System Specs

Default

Would it be worthwhile reseating and cleaning the contacts? Doesn't cost you anything even if it's a hail-Mary attempt.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2019, 05:35 PM
Prolab's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brampton
Posts: 507

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valkyrie View Post
So core 4 can't be made stable at stock or lower clocks and stock or higher volts?


If so, maybe your CPU is degrading, but as per your sig you have good cooling and fairly mild OC. Were you pushing volts hard to get that OC? It's possible it just had a marginal core that managed to sneak through screening.


I guess at any rate 5 core/10 thread OC'd will get you by for a while and take the pressure off to leap to something new.

Yah. Even loading up optimized defaults and running stock clocks, Core #4 just triggers BSOD. I even went back to BIOS 1801 and 1702 and i cant enable Core #4 without BSOD.

So for now, im running 1801 with Core #4 disabled.

It gives me time to save up and build my TR4 build and wait for Ryzen 3000 benchmarks to make my decision.


Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Would it be worthwhile reseating and cleaning the contacts? Doesn't cost you anything even if it's a hail-Mary attempt.

I'll be doing that sometime this summer since its my yearly tear down anyway.
__________________
Gaming Rig:(2)Swiffy MCP35x, (2)Aphacool UT60 480 rad, (1) 360 & 240 HWL GTS, Heatkiller IV, 5930k @ 4.4 GHz, Asus X99 Deluxe II, (2) NVidia 1080 w/ HK IV blocks, Crucial P1 & Samsung EVO 850 500GB, (4) 3 TB & (1) 5 TB Toshiba HD, EVGA 1300 PSU, Win 10 Pro

HTPC Rig: 4670k @ 4.4Ghz, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, D5 vario w/ EK top, 480 XSPC RX, 240 HWL GTX, Asus 290 w/ XSPC WB, Kingston 240 GB SSD, 5TB Toshiba HD, 2TB Samsung F4, 6TB & 8TB HGST, Enthoo Primo, EVGA G3 750 PS, Win 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2019, 05:41 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,863

My System Specs

Default

It's a long shot, but a poor contact could conceivably degrade a critical voltage enough to cause instability.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2019, 07:03 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chilliwack...Time Is Just A Rubber Band....
Posts: 645
Default

The contact thing is certainly worth checking out. Just re-seating the chip causes a slight wiping action that should break the microscopic oxide layer that builds over time. If you're going to go in there you want to make sure the socket pins look like "seas of sameness". A little contact cleaner and or enhancer carefully applied may help too.

If the problem is internal to the chip your stuck with 5/10 of course.


Edit: There have been some workloads that didn't play nice with an odd number of cores (other than 1) over the years, but you have an even number of threads, so even if some of those are still around you should be good. I recall those issues cropping up occasionally on triple core AMD's (3C/3T).

Last edited by Valkyrie; June 15, 2019 at 11:36 PM. Reason: addendum
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XMP - is it automatic? Mr. Friendly RAM 5 May 19, 2019 10:03 AM
[Solved] Automatic fan controller? Diabloj13 Air Cooling 6 February 25, 2012 03:08 PM
Automatic movie renaming/label tool Blu O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 October 17, 2011 12:06 PM
Automatic online storage? 3.0charlie Storage 9 January 18, 2011 12:57 PM
How Automatic Transmissions Work geokilla Off Topic 4 July 4, 2009 02:59 PM