Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2019, 06:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 17
Default Error 0xc000007b

Hi. I'm in a bit of a bind and I'm not sure how to get out of it.

I just recently built a new system and installed Windows 10 Pro 64 bit.

I have had no trouble installing some basic programs: MS Office, Steam, etc. I went today to install another game and I got an error.

I have been looking for 3 hours now for a solution and have come up against another problem. A lot of solutions ask to reinstall .NET Framework and/or also try uninstalling and reinstalling Microsoft Visual C++. The trouble is a) when trying to install a new .NET Framework I get the same error; b) I cannot uninstal MSVC++. I have 6 of them listed in programs (2012, 2013 and 2015; x64 and x86 each), but when I try to uninstall it has an error and will not do anything. I tried downloading and installing 2017 and it will not work either. I even downloaded CCleaner to try and uninstall them and no luck.

I have also run check disk and tried various other "solutions" and "best fixes".

Any ideas? Anyone? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2019, 06:23 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 628

My System Specs

Default

Is windows up to date?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2019, 06:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 17
Default

Yes. I even clicked Check for Updates to make sure.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2019, 07:46 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,844

My System Specs

Default

.NET 3.5 is a feature on Windows 10, generally if an application needs it Windows will prompt you to install it. If not, you can follow this: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dot...-35-windows-10

As for C++ Runtimes, they can be a mess, this guy has put together an all-in-one package that works pretty well: https://github.com/abbodi1406/vcredist/releases/

Beyond that, you can try some commands to repair Windows:
"dism /online /cleanup-image /scanhealth", that will check for corruption, if it finds any, then run: "dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth"
The other one would be "sfc /scannow"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2019, 08:25 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,435

My System Specs

Default

Look up " Who Crashed " it helps with codes.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2019, 04:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 17
Default

The sfc /scannow found problems but I cannot understand the log. (Admitted n00b here!)

As for the other items, the .NET 3.5 Framework walkthrough did not work and that C++ package could not be installed (I get the same error in the thread title).

Who Crashed is more for crashing. My PC isn't crashing, it just isn't letting me install (or uninstall) certain programs.

I appreciate the feedback; thanks! At this point, however, having spent 10+ hours on this so far and gone through more than 3 pages of google searches with no luck, I might just as well reinstall Windows. Trouble is, I don't know what I did to mess it up and how to avoid doing that again. All I did was install Windows and update windows. I haven't installed too many other things, being a new PC and all. Just Asus Aura and Nvidia drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2019, 07:21 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,844

My System Specs

Default

Hmm yeah, reinstalling is the easiest option at this point. I always start with .NET and C++ as my first steps since so many things rely upon them.

And yes, the SFC log is a bit messy to read. If you search for "Repairing" that should help get you closer to the files it's attempting to repair.

Didn't install any antivirus or such?

The odds are generally pretty low, but the bluescreens you had when trying to set your memory speeds may have corrupted Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2019, 07:45 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 17
Default

There's a system restore function in Windows 10, I can just run that, so it keeps all my personal files.

I'll do what you said, and install .NET and that Visual C++ (the earlier one you linked) and give that a shot.

I use Avast (have for many years on various PCs without issue). I seem to recall this error a few years back on my older PC and it was a missing/corrupted .dll file, iirc.

If you think the BSOD might be a cause, perhaps I should then try to get my XMP/DOCP up and running and stable prior to doing the restore.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2019, 08:42 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,949

My System Specs

Default

Did you have Avast installed on the install you had the error with? If so, save that until last as the most recent W10 update had issues with some third party AV.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
Lian-Li PC-011 Air (RGB) / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Screen
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2019, 08:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 17
Default

No, Avast was the first thing I installed after Windows and that has run without issue. I basically only have installed Avast, MS Office, Steam, qBitTorrent and then drivers and Asus Aura. I tried to install a new game (Magic: the Gathering Online) and got the error.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHEA-LOGGER 19 when idling .Error Type: Cache Hierarchy Error. Asus Z370 Tuf issue? sew333 CPU's and Motherboards 1 October 31, 2018 04:28 PM
cpu fan error ?? help yehia7000 CPU's and Motherboards 3 August 14, 2012 06:21 AM
Error 101 (net::ERR_CONNECTION_RESET): Unknown error. chiknhawk O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 April 30, 2011 05:08 AM
Update error code 8000ffff - unknown error hedgehog88 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 August 22, 2010 08:23 PM
F@H Error silent1mezzo HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 September 15, 2009 02:39 PM