Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2019, 04:42 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 20
Question Gpu works in one board and not the other (r9 290x 4g)

I have two motherboards:

an intel dq67sw paired with an amd r9 270 and core i5 2500, all work fine together
an Z97S SLI Krait paired with an amd r9 290x and amd fx 8150, all work fine together

HOWEVER, when I try to put my r9 290x into my intel dq67sw motherboard, it does not work.
It will not post and I get a very broad video error beep code that simply states I should reseat my GPU

Things I have tried ...

making sure the card is in all the way (even took the bracket off)
testing other motherboards
updating bios
default bios settings
googling it
updating bios on r9 290x
changing to from legacy to EUFI

none of this has worked so far..
any ideas?

TL:DR:
r9 290x (confirmed working) will not post/work in intel dq67sw motherboard but will post and work in a different motherboard,
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2019, 05:19 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,948

My System Specs

Default

You didn't mention whether or not the same PSU and/or cabling is being used when swapping motherboards. If not, that'd be my first guess.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
Lian-Li PC-011 Air (RGB) / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Screen
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2019, 07:12 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,018
Default

yes need all power plugged to boot
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2019, 08:53 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,979

My System Specs

Default

What power supply is in the dq67sw build?
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2019, 01:23 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 20
Default

Hey everyone, thanks for replying. I will answer you all now.

I am a 500w evga psu for my dq67sw and i am using a chinese 700w powersupply for the other motherboard.
I have used the 6 pin connectors on both in the past and they have worked, but come to think of it, I have never ever tested the 8 + 6 pin gpu connector thing on my evga PSU, you guys think it may just be the powersupply? I noticed the fans spin up on the r9 290x, even if it is not posting/detected.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2019, 01:26 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
yes need all power plugged to boot
I am plugging the required 6 and 8 pin connectors in, I tried both the psu connectors for it as well as molex.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2019, 02:16 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 20
Default

Guys, for what it is worth I will try some more PSUs
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2019, 06:06 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,948

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, that'd be my first guess. There are some instances where particular cards were not compatible with specific motherboards/bios version, but that doesn't happen all that often.

It really sounds like you've got a power issue going on, that card draws a lot of power.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
Lian-Li PC-011 Air (RGB) / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Screen
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2019, 09:33 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 20
Default

I just tested another PSU with the dq67sw and it did not work, that psu is confirmed working with the r9 290x on a different motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2019, 09:51 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,979

My System Specs

Default

Random. Must be either the puce slot not supplying enough power, or an incompatibility. Not sure of the best way ahead myself.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] LF: 1155 Board for I5 2500 - any board will do! n-sanity Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 26, 2015 09:52 AM
[WTB] WTT 290X Tri-X - Ref 290X (WC'ing Stuff - Slim 240 Rad, MCP35X Pump, CPU Block) JoeOnePack Buy/Sell & Trade 6 June 11, 2014 03:52 AM
[FS] R9 290X, GIGABYTE GV-R929XOC-4GD Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit gerardfraser Buy/Sell & Trade 2 May 3, 2014 06:14 PM
built my pc but only the mb works.. nwa4life Troubleshooting 12 September 14, 2010 08:40 PM
It just works, lol mac. Squeetard O/S's, Drivers & General Software 24 October 13, 2009 03:30 PM