Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2019, 10:59 AM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,944

My System Specs

Default 8700K - Fluctuating core speeds at idle when OC'ed?

This question is part overclocking, part troubleshooting, but I thought a little more the latter so asking it here.

I've been playing around with the new 8700K, and allowed ASUS AI Suite 3 to do an automatic overclock. Took it to 4.9 GHz without any tweaking by me. But I do need to check what it's doing with voltages as I know the auto ones can be too aggressive on that, or so I read.

But I noticed something that seems odd: when idling the voltage and core speeds are fluctuating all over the place, observed in HWMonitor and CPU-Z. They only stay at a given speed for a few seconds and range from 0.8 to 4.6 GHz, from visual inspection.

I did try changing the Windows power management from balanced to high, no difference.

Quick searching last night suggesting that setting the voltage manually might be the solution, but didn't seem conclusive, only suggested. Haven't tried that yet.

I realised I'm not sure if it was doing this behaviour at stock clocks and settings so I will check that too.

Just wondered if anyone has seen this before? Known 8700K thing or artifact of auto-overclock perhaps?

If I wasn't monitoring I wouldn't have noticed. Neither PC performance nor cooling is impacted, just seemed like odd behaviour.
__________________
i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz (Swiftech H220) | ASUS Maximus X Code | 32GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro DDR4-3200 | ASUS ROG GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC ver. | EX920 512GB, MX100 512GB, MX300 2TB | EVGA Supernova 850W G2 | Meshify C | Mayflower Electronics O2+ODAC, USB sound for mic, Sennheiser PC360 SE | Acer Predator X34, BenQ 21.5" | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2019, 11:02 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,838

My System Specs

Default

AFAIK all recent processors do this. I suspect it's a function of the power saving features.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2019, 11:07 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,724

My System Specs

Default

If you disable SpeedStep and C1E support, that would lock it at the "maximum base" frequency but I think it would also disable the "turbo" functionality.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2019, 11:38 AM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,944

My System Specs

Default

OK, thanks guys. I'll do some research on SpeedStep and C1E support so I understand what is going on there. If it is normal for a recent processor then I can let it be and not worry about it.

If you are overclocked to 4.9, 4.9 is the turbo or boost speed, is that correct? So if turbo end up being disabled, does your CPU become locked to some lower frequency, even if overclocked?

I'll be honest, I haven't dug into OC'ing since my i7 920 days, just letting ASUS give me a little boost on my 4790K. If the answer to that question is "Just Google it!" I'm OK with that, but you guys are often more interesting than Google! ;)
__________________
i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz (Swiftech H220) | ASUS Maximus X Code | 32GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro DDR4-3200 | ASUS ROG GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC ver. | EX920 512GB, MX100 512GB, MX300 2TB | EVGA Supernova 850W G2 | Meshify C | Mayflower Electronics O2+ODAC, USB sound for mic, Sennheiser PC360 SE | Acer Predator X34, BenQ 21.5" | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2019, 11:40 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 11,394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lysrin View Post
OK, thanks guys. I'll do some research on SpeedStep and C1E support so I understand what is going on there. If it is normal for a recent processor then I can let it be and not worry about it.

If you are overclocked to 4.9, 4.9 is the turbo or boost speed, is that correct? So if turbo end up being disabled, does your CPU become locked to some lower frequency, even if overclocked?

I'll be honest, I haven't dug into OC'ing since my i7 920 days, just letting ASUS give me a little boost on my 4790K. If the answer to that question is "Just Google it!" I'm OK with that, but you guys are often more interesting than Google! ;)
The answer is... its fine lol.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2019, 12:18 PM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,944

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
The answer is... its fine lol.
See? Always interesting! ...and concise!
__________________
i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz (Swiftech H220) | ASUS Maximus X Code | 32GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro DDR4-3200 | ASUS ROG GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC ver. | EX920 512GB, MX100 512GB, MX300 2TB | EVGA Supernova 850W G2 | Meshify C | Mayflower Electronics O2+ODAC, USB sound for mic, Sennheiser PC360 SE | Acer Predator X34, BenQ 21.5" | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2019, 04:25 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,724

My System Specs

Default

When all cores are fully loaded does it remain at 4.9 or drop down a bit? Usually the turbo speed is a bit higher when only some cores are loaded. Then there's the AVX offset too... if your running AVX workloads then it (typically) drops the multiplier even lower.

But yes, it's fine. Better to have it drop the multiplier and voltages at idle, saves you power, heat and increases the lifespan of the chip and the motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2019, 05:02 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,085

My System Specs

Default

It's actually changing much faster than what you see being reported, especially if you are reviewing those speed changes in the Asus Suite.

Here's an indepth article of what Speed Shift is actually doing as of Skylake:

https://www.anandtech.com/show/9751/...ive-processors

Here's an update of the tweaks done as of Kaby Lake which holds true through to Coffee Lake:

https://www.anandtech.com/show/10610...g-in-january/4
__________________


Last edited by Vittra; January 22, 2019 at 05:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2019, 05:23 PM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,944

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the links Vittra!

It's just looks weird when it is sitting at 799 MHz, 0.68v, and then right up to 3000 or 4500 MHz and 1.26v for a half second or so and back. But if it's fine, that's cool. I just leave it and read up on the tech itself to understand it better.

JD, running Prime95 v26.6 (small FFT torture test) looks like it can actually only get all cores to 4.8 GHz at slight above or slightly below 1.25v. Depending on which program you check it shows 4.76 to 4.802. Temps get to 88C on one core, 79-88C across all cores after about 5-10 min of Prime95. I'm guessing when I let ASUS Suite do the overclock the default set up was per core rather than all cores, so the 4.9 was only reached on one.

I'm OK though with a fairly low voltage (isn't 1.25 fairly low? I've seen some people going as high as 1.4 to get 5 GHz) running all cores at 4.8. That seems pretty good doesn't it?
__________________
i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz (Swiftech H220) | ASUS Maximus X Code | 32GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro DDR4-3200 | ASUS ROG GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC ver. | EX920 512GB, MX100 512GB, MX300 2TB | EVGA Supernova 850W G2 | Meshify C | Mayflower Electronics O2+ODAC, USB sound for mic, Sennheiser PC360 SE | Acer Predator X34, BenQ 21.5" | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2019, 09:51 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,500

My System Specs

Default

You should consider playing around with OC'ing without the AI Suite...do it manually....theo ne thing I dont like with those "Auto Overclock" functions is I have no idea what voltages or what changes are being made in the BIOS......
.....you get more "intimate" with our BIOS / UEFI going manual.....hop on over to ROG Forum as you have an ROG Board...great OC'ing tutorials ...even youtube tutorials....Manual OC'ing is pretty straight forward now...only a few settings to change......
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 23.772K
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17562471
Timespy: 18.613K
MARK 11: 40.185K
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/13079691



.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core i7 8700K, Z370 and GTX2080 thl9077 New Builds 5 October 15, 2017 07:18 AM
GTX 1080 boost clock stuck at low speeds after pc has been idle some time. sew333 Video Cards 20 August 9, 2016 10:13 AM
144Hz Fluctuating GPU clock speeds CF User Troubleshooting 13 July 31, 2015 07:36 AM
Fluctuating r9 290x ( gpu usage ) Skozaa Video Cards 9 February 3, 2015 02:18 AM
what is the average idle temp of a 260 216 core Shadowmeph Video Cards 13 August 5, 2009 04:45 AM