Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2018, 09:44 AM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default Windows 10 Upgrade; Did Not Work!

Tried to do a download Windows 10 Upgrade from Windows 7 Pro. Did not work out very well. System will not boot. Bios recognizes my HDs but the Windows boot sequence does not. Am using Boot Repair Disk (Linux) right now to back up files.

Is it worth trying a clean reinstall of Windows 7 from DVD or wait for Windows 10 DVD which should show up tomorrow?

Thanks. This sucks but have only myself to blame.

__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - Zotac GTX1050 Ti Mini 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 10 Home 64 v.1083

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2018, 09:49 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,947

My System Specs

Default

If you have access to another PC you can always use the windows 10 media creation tool to create an install USB and then just use the windows 7pro key to activate it. (Would still be a fresh install though if you're got files you need to save).
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
Lian-Li PC-011 Air (RGB) / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Screen
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2018, 10:42 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 622

My System Specs

Default

Free upgrade? I thought that promo was expired 3 years ago. I would also use the windows creation tool and do a fresh install.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2018, 11:00 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,069

My System Specs

Default

I also think that the free upgrade promo is done but I would also think that shouldn't effect the actual upgrade install windows 10 should boot up and maybe pop up a nag to tell you your license needs to be installed but like SSwilson posted above you could try that. if it is just the boot sequence then some Linux actually ( or used to ) have boot loader type things ( sorry still having my morning coffee) which should ask yu if you want to creat a boot loader and it should see the windows boot loaders on then .but it can be a hassle.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2018, 11:09 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,947

My System Specs

Default

Windows 10 still accepts win7/8 keys to authenticate. The "free upgrade" time has expired but they've left this back door in so it's obviously a bit of 'Nudge, nudge, wink, wink" going on. :)
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
Lian-Li PC-011 Air (RGB) / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Screen
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2018, 11:31 AM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

It didn't accept my key from Win 7 but might have been because it was OEM version.
__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - Zotac GTX1050 Ti Mini 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 10 Home 64 v.1083

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2018, 11:53 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,947

My System Specs

Default

It only accepts it in place of a win 10 auth key during a fresh install. Just make sure it's the same version as the install you're doing (i.e. pro vrs home).
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
Lian-Li PC-011 Air (RGB) / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Screen
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2018, 12:30 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Now trying clean install but it says that it can't be installed on SSD because it is of the GPT partition type.

Ideas? Thanks.
__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - Zotac GTX1050 Ti Mini 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 10 Home 64 v.1083

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2018, 02:11 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Looks like I might have to convert the partition MBR instead of GPT. How can I check to see if I'm booted in UEFI mode or Legacy?

Thanks.
__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - Zotac GTX1050 Ti Mini 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 10 Home 64 v.1083

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2018, 03:37 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,839

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by misterlarry View Post
Looks like I might have to convert the partition MBR instead of GPT. How can I check to see if I'm booted in UEFI mode or Legacy?

Thanks.
A dumb way that (usually) works, does the Windows setup look to be running in your monitor's proper resolution? If it's clear and sharp, its UEFI, if its fuzzy/blurry, its Legacy/BIOS.

To install in UEFI, your USB needs to be FAT32 formatted and when you pick it as the boot device, make sure you chose the UEFI option if you have the choice.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Usb port dont work when windows 7 launching Workplease Troubleshooting 7 February 4, 2016 06:06 AM
Work station upgrade time. Monitor (s) and so on Dav3 New Builds 1 October 4, 2014 09:06 AM
Built new machine for work. We have a bit more $,what do you think we should upgrade? Psycho-Designs New Builds 8 April 10, 2013 11:15 PM
Windows N Keys Work With Normal Windows? geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 June 9, 2010 08:18 PM
In need of an upgrade - Will this work ? excalibur55 Video Cards 19 February 10, 2009 07:49 PM