Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2018, 04:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,257
Default Kingston SSD Security Freeze Lock

Trying to wipe a Kingston Hyper SSD using Kingston SSD Manager. While I can update the firmware, the Secure Erase option is greyed out. It told me to power off and then on the SSD without shutting down the system and frankly I don't know how to do that. I tried putting the computer to sleep and waking it and rebooting the computer but no luck. Anyone know the correct process for this?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2018, 05:30 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 3,948

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moocow View Post
Trying to wipe a Kingston Hyper SSD using Kingston SSD Manager. While I can update the firmware, the Secure Erase option is greyed out. It told me to power off and then on the SSD without shutting down the system and frankly I don't know how to do that. I tried putting the computer to sleep and waking it and rebooting the computer but no luck. Anyone know the correct process for this?

Open the case and pull the wider of the two cables.
__________________
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2018, 05:38 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,257
Default

Pulling the power cable to the drive while the system on won't **** it up? Sounds kind of dangerous.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2018, 05:41 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 3,948

My System Specs

Default

Well, assuming this is your non-boot drive you're trying to wipe, no.


If its a boot drive you're trying to secure erase...well...you cant without creating/booting from different media.
__________________
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2018, 05:41 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,841

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moocow View Post
Pulling the power cable to the drive while the system on won't **** it up? Sounds kind of dangerous.
Nope, I've done it a few times too. Only way to secure erase a drive in most cases. I think plugging it in while the PC is running also works, basically as long as its not connected at boot.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2018, 05:46 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,257
Default

Ok, I'll give it a try since using ESATA dock doesn't work. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2018, 03:34 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,257
Default

I tried removing the power cable with the PC powered on. There's a boop device disconnect sound by Windows 7 however when I plug the power cable back in, I can't get the computer to detect the SSD again. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2018, 03:38 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,841

My System Specs

Default

In Device Manager you did a scan? Maybe try a scan in Disk Management too?

In your BIOS, maybe enable hotswap on that SATA port if you have the option.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2018, 04:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,257
Default

I did do a scan with Device Manager but not with Disk Management. I don't recall a hotswap option for my old Z68 board. I'll go double check.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2018, 05:47 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,257
Default

Yeah, no joy with Disk Manager either. Once I eject the device and disconnect power, it won't detect it again. There isn't a hotswap option in the BIOS and my disk controller driver is using the generic MS one and installing the latest Intel driver didn't change it. I guess I'll try it with Ubuntu live CD and see what happens. Interestingly, this post say unplug the SATA cable and not the power cable.

https://askubuntu.com/questions/6044...ol-on-my-drive
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
computer freeze. why? hohohee Troubleshooting 13 January 5, 2013 03:17 AM
Cod 4 sudden freeze? JustDepends Gaming 11 July 16, 2011 08:52 AM
System Freeze DXStriker Troubleshooting 7 July 31, 2008 07:38 PM
OCZ Freeze- their new TIM formula Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 13 December 13, 2007 08:27 AM
Freeze Asspigeon Troubleshooting 32 July 26, 2007 06:41 AM