Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2018, 01:55 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 169
Default No display on my new build

Hello, i need help plz ;(

I just put on together every part of my new cpu and... i got no display. Nothing comes out of the display port on the Mobo or on the GPU. i tried a few things like moving the ram sticks around and such but im starting to think i have a bad part....

Is there something i should check before RMA?

CPU - Intel - Core i7-9700K 3.6GHz 8-Core Processor
CPU - Cooler Cooler Master - Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler
Motherboard - MSI gaming plus Z370
Memory - G.Skill - Aegis 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200
Storage - Samsung - 970 Evo 500GB M.2-2280 Solid State Drive
Video Card - Asus - GeForce RTX 2080 8GB ROG Strix Gaming OC Video Card
Case - Fractal Design - Meshify C ATX Mid Tower Case
Power Supply - EVGA - SuperNOVA G1+ 650W Fully-Modular
Monitor - Asus - ROG SWIFT PG278QR 27.0" 2560x1440 165Hz Monitor

Let me know if this isnt the right place ill delete post tyyyy
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2018, 02:01 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,834

My System Specs

Default

Moved to troubleshooting.

Did you try with an hdmi cable to your TV?

Any lights on the board? (I really wish boards still came with speakers for post error codes.... :\ )
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2018, 02:10 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 169
Default

ty

I tried with hdmi and vga cable to an old monitor but it still says no input detected
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2018, 02:18 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,834

My System Specs

Default

Any lights or fans coming on?

Name:  Debug_cmos reset.jpg
Views: 10
Size:  64.5 KB

Did you try a cmos reset? Does the debug led have any kind of indication on it?

edit: Does the power supply fan come on?
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2018, 02:28 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 169
Default

mobo is lighting up fans are working
psu fan is working aswell

the debug light is on and red at boot and stays on

bad cpu?? i dont know much about that debug thing...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2018, 02:31 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,834

My System Specs

Default

Looks like there are 4 lights... which one is lit going from the top down?

If it's the first one it would indicate an issue with the CPU.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2018, 02:35 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 169
Default

its the second one
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2018, 02:35 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,834

My System Specs

Default

Ummmmmm.......

> CPU - Intel - Core i7-9700K 3.6GHz 8-Core Processor

Unless there's been a bios update, it doesn't look like that motherboard is compatible with the processor you've chosen.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2018, 02:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 169
Default

second light is for ram from the manual
switched around a stick now it dosnt light up so no more debug light

i still dont have display tho ;_((((
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2018, 02:39 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 169
Default

Holy smokes i think i found it
9th gen are compatible with z370 but they need a bios update

now the question is...
how do i update a mobo bios without display
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Build no Display ShinraCorp Troubleshooting 20 October 8, 2014 04:22 PM
Samsung Display is Now The World’s Largest Display Manufacturer Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 July 3, 2012 01:41 AM
DVI -> DISPLAY PORT -> MINI DISPLAY PORT -> GPU ? JoshOohAh Video Cards 2 December 25, 2010 08:44 PM
display for ps3 Jim Display Units 5 December 15, 2009 05:38 PM