Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2018, 06:11 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,181
Default

I couldn't confirm it as I don't have the correct tools to do so. If it's only the PCI-E contacts for X16 having problem, it doesn't explain why the 290X in X8 slot would black out as well. There's a guy on Main Street Vancouver that fix motherboards but at the hourly rate he charges (I used him before to fix a laptop DC jack), may as well get a used Z77 board from China.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2018, 07:38 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,181
Default

Well a new update, I got an old H61 board from a kind member here. However, when I plug in my GPU and I got no display at all from DP, HDMI, or DVI. So I guess it's not the board but the CPU is malfunctioning. I'm not going to take my sister's 3770k for testing as I can't risk wrecking her machine as well. Guess it's time to look for a cheap Sandy Bridge for more testing or just forget about and save for a Ryzen 3xxxx.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2018, 07:54 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,616

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the update. Non k sandy bridge are pretty cheap on eBay...otherwise cutting it away and an update would be a solid plan.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2018, 09:36 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,181
Default

Someone on FB Market is selling a non K 2600 for $65 so I may buy it but I prefer to buy it from HWC local members as there are recourse / refund if it breaks plus we tend to keep our reps up by not selling broken stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2018, 09:45 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,853
Default

or a bent pin in cpu socket
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
780 ti prevents video output on win7. (ASUS mobo) Zephiran Troubleshooting 2 August 15, 2014 12:51 PM
[WTB] GTA matx video card with digital (DVI or HDMI) output capable of 1080p 0o0 Buy/Sell & Trade 2 March 22, 2010 09:05 PM
No video output after upgrading HDD mjin12 Troubleshooting 9 March 4, 2010 05:33 PM
LF-Cheap ATI video card that can output sound through HDMI. Gunner86 Buy/Sell & Trade 9 November 2, 2008 06:19 PM
Asus 8800GT output to telviesion issue rob123 Troubleshooting 0 June 1, 2008 03:05 PM