Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2018, 11:37 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,043

My System Specs

Default not sure if its harware of software problem

I am running a Asrock z77 extreme 3 MB and on average once a week my Ethernet fails to find an IP address I always I try to reset w=via windows 10 it fails to find IP then I go to the modem reboot then router reboot but I always end up having to reboot my PC is this hard ware or a software windows 10 thing, I have never had this problem with other OS's also my laptop and cell and other computer never lose a connection . I am thinking it is the Windows 10 doing it . I am debating on adding in my adapter Lan card 10/100 or just doing a full upgrade which I am thinking isnt really worth it since I only game and watch videos on this system.
I have already unchecked the power management" allow computer to turn off to save power " so I know it isn't that
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2018, 11:40 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 2,938

My System Specs

Default

What happens when you set a static IP?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2018, 11:47 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 4,191
Default

Definitely test with your add-in network card. See if it stops acting up. If it continues to be an issue, it might be the cable, your switch or router also.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Corsair Obsidian 500D
Asus X99-E WS/USB3.1
i7-5820K @4.4GHZ
RTX 2070
4x4GB Corsair LPX 2666MHZ
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W GOLD
960GB ADATA SX8200 NVME
HP OMEN 32 1440p 75hz

Benq W1070 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK Vector RTX2080 FC, EK Coolstream XT 220 Rad, MCR320 Rad, EK-XTOP SPC-60 Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2018, 12:01 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,043

My System Specs

Default

I have switch out cables and also static IP no difference. I will try my Addin card see what happens
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2018, 07:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 78
Default

I had problem like this on my basement htpc. Went from onboard Realtek to addin pci intel card. That fixes IT.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2018, 07:43 PM
AB10's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: East of Edmonton
Posts: 53
Default

Next time it happens try flushing the DNS cache. Open a cmd window and enter ipconfig /flushdns
__________________
ESXi6.5
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2018, 12:44 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,043

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AB10 View Post
Next time it happens try flushing the DNS cache. Open a cmd window and enter ipconfig /flushdns
did all that first when it first started didn't work
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2018, 06:48 AM
AB10's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: East of Edmonton
Posts: 53
Default

ARP cache too?


The symptoms sound address related; DNS, ARP or MAC addressing. If you've already gone down that rabbit hole then hardware is next.
__________________
ESXi6.5
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2018, 11:06 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,043

My System Specs

Default

never heard of Arpcache , I know in the olddays with XP or windows 7 the clearing the DNS cache and all that would work .
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2018, 11:08 AM
AB10's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: East of Edmonton
Posts: 53
Default

https://www.techrepublic.com/blog/wi...-in-windows-7/
__________________
ESXi6.5
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus xonar phoebus problem software Skozaa Audio 1 May 9, 2015 01:20 PM
Steam connection problem (Problem Fixed) great_big_abyss Gaming 3 January 10, 2012 05:37 PM
Hard drive problem or Windows 7 Problem?! aeminence New Builds 4 October 13, 2011 06:46 AM
could this be a game problem or a video driver problem? Shadowmeph Troubleshooting 4 December 17, 2010 07:01 AM
Problem with Mic on skype and other VOIP software Kentalish Troubleshooting 4 February 11, 2010 09:59 PM