Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2018, 10:47 AM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Smile Need Help Urgently!!!

Hi Folks,


Been quite a while since I have been on the forum. Long story short, lost my job and had to start my own company a couple of years ago. Time to play much or stay current on computer tech went out the window.


This morning, my computer shut down suddenly and will not restart. Powers on but no boot up and cannot access Bios.


Question is, where do I start troubleshooting to determine which component has failed. Computer configuration is in my signature.


Any help or roadmap for troubleshooting would be very much appreciated. I need my desktop for my business and I have to get it back into working order ASAP!


Thanks in advance everyone. Much appreciated.
__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - Zotac GTX1050 Ti Mini 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 10 Home 64 v.1083

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2018, 11:04 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 9,152

My System Specs

Default

When you power on the system, try tapping caps lock on/off a bunch, if it turns on/off then its the display/GPU. If not, try one stick of ram at a time, try each stick individually, and in different slots. Remove the GPU and try using onboard GPU. If none of these help, then I would guess its the motherboard.
__________________
The Crippled God WIP
Queen of Dreams RIP
Big Lian Li
Complete
Forever Alone Complete
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2018, 11:35 AM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,134

My System Specs

Default

I agree with Lowfat, but I'd also suggest a CMOS clear at some point as well.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2018, 12:00 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Well I got everything up on a table where I can work at it. Hooked up one monitor, keyboard, and mouse. Inadvertently plugged monitor into Mobo VGA and it booted up fine. So I re-seated the GPU and now it won't boot either way again. Will follow all of lowfat's suggestions and report back. Thanks.
__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - Zotac GTX1050 Ti Mini 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 10 Home 64 v.1083

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2018, 12:27 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Went through first two procedures with no change. Removed GPU and plugged into Mobo VGA and booted up. Think I'll check with a friend to see if he has a GPU that I can borrow to test. Thanks.
__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - Zotac GTX1050 Ti Mini 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 10 Home 64 v.1083

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2018, 04:15 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,979

My System Specs

Default

Glad to hear itís partially figured. That narrows it to gpu, pcie slot, or possibly a bad psu/gpu power cable. Most likely is probably the gpu.

Edit: was it the same cable you used to connect integrated to the monitor as the gpu? Could have also been your video cable if it wasnít. You could also try a different connector on the gpu in case that was the issue (bad hdmi/dvi port etc).
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2018, 05:57 AM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Hoping it is the GPU as I ordered a new one last night. Thanks.
__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - Zotac GTX1050 Ti Mini 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 10 Home 64 v.1083

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2018, 11:47 AM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

New GPU fixed the issue. Back up and running 3D again. Thanks everyone, much appreciated!
__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - Zotac GTX1050 Ti Mini 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 10 Home 64 v.1083

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2018, 12:42 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,930

My System Specs

Default

Glad it's sorted, don't wait so long for your next visit!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 28, 2018, 02:53 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Edmonton Area
Posts: 2,260

My System Specs

Default

I noticed your GPU is a Zotac 1050ti. If that's right, you should have the ability to RMA it. At least you can sell it and recoup some of your cash for buying a new one.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Long shot but SAS drive urgently needed Nodscene Storage 3 August 21, 2012 04:54 PM
NEED HELP URGENTLY (LOUD GRINDING NOISE) Blu Troubleshooting 5 October 25, 2011 10:54 AM