Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2018, 08:46 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 4,206
Default X58 not booting with more than 1 GPU

So I'm building a machine for a friend, with his GPUs that are also used for mining on and off.

Intel DX58S02 Board
Xeon X5650 Hex core
3 x 4GB DDR3 RAM
3 x GTX 1070
Thermaltake 850W 80+Gold PSU

Long story short, default BIOS settings, everything works fine with 1 GPU installed, in any of the x16 slots. However if I install any other GPU in any of the other slots, it fails to post, and just cycles through error codes repeating about 10-15 of the codes quickly in a loop. It never stalls or stops on any one code, and doesnt Beep. Obviously nothing on screen showing up.

I also thought it was a power issue for some reason (Although the same GPU's and PSU work fine on a different board/CPU that I have), so I tried just putting a 8600 gs that I have as a tester card in. Same thing, with 1 x 1070 and 1 x 8600gs, the thing wont boot.

The BIOS is rather spartan, and I couldnt find many PCIe options to test other than PCIe overclocking in the advanced Menu, which just ups the clock settings? (default 100mhz, with 1mhz increment options). I didnt bother touching these settings as I'm not sure what that would accomplish.

Does anyone have any thoughts, or maybe knows more about the BIOS for this board?
__________________
The Vortex H20

Corsair Obsidian 500D
Asus X99-E WS/USB3.1
i7-5820K @4.4GHZ
RTX 2070
4x8GB Corsair LPX 2666MHZ
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W GOLD
960GB ADATA SX8200 NVME
HP OMEN 32 1440p 75hz

Benq W1070 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK Vector RTX2080 FC, EK Coolstream XT 220 Rad, MCR320 Rad, EK-XTOP SPC-60 Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2018, 03:28 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,366

My System Specs

Default

Do you by chance have a non-GPU PCI-E device you can plug in? My thinking and its been a long while but the PCI-e routs through the North bridge on those chipsets. So maybe that's gone bad? Hence my suggestion. Its either that or the power delivery for the PCI-e is toast and can't handle more than one card.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2018, 03:55 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,018
Default

x58 is locked to PCI 1.1V
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2018, 04:53 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 1,005

My System Specs

Default

According to the specs from here https://www.intel.com/content/dam/su...chProdSpec.pdf

Instantly Available

PC Technology
• Support for PCI Local Bus Specification Revision 2.2
• Support for PCI Express* Revision 2.0

From the layout PCI slots

D PCI Express x16 bus connector
E Conventional PCI bus add-in card connector
F PCI Express x16 bus add-in card connector (Secondary)
G PCI Express x1 bus add-in card connector
H PCI Express x16 bus add-in card connector (Primary)

3.3.1 PCI Autoconfiguration

The BIOS can automatically configure PCI devices. PCI devices may be onboard or add-in cards. Autoconfiguration lets a user insert or remove PCI cards without having to configure the system. When a user turns on the system after adding a PCI card, the BIOS automatically configures interrupts, the I/O space, and other system resources. Any interrupts set to Available in Setup are considered to be available for use by the add-in card.

2.2.2.2 Add-in Card Connectors

The board has the following add-in card connectors:
• PCI Express 2.0 x16: three PCI Express 2.0 x16 connectors supporting simultaneous transfer speeds up to 8 GB/sec of peak bandwidth per direction and up to 16 GB/sec concurrent bandwidth.
• PCI Express 1.1 x1: two PCI Express 1.1 x1 connectors. The x1 interface supports simultaneous transfer speeds up to 250 MB/sec of peak bandwidth per direction and up to 2 GB/sec concurrent bandwidth.
• Conventional PCI (rev 2.3 compliant) bus: one Conventional PCI bus add-in card connector. The SMBus is routed to the Conventional PCI bus connector.

Conventional PCI bus add-in cards with SMBus support can access sensor data and other information residing on the board.

Note the following considerations for the Conventional PCI bus connector:
• The Conventional PCI bus connector is bus master capable.
• SMBus signals are routed to the Conventional PCI bus connector. This enables Conventional PCI bus add-in boards with SMBus support to access sensor data on the board. The specific SMBus signals are as follows:
⎯ The SMBus clock line is connected to pin A40.
⎯ The SMBus data line is connected to pin A41.
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus Prime Z370-A : i7 8700k : Corsair Vengeance 32 GB DDR4-3000 : Samsung - 960 EVO NVMe 500 GB Boot : Muskin 1 TB Reactor SATA : Crucial MX 500 1 TB SATA m.2 : Corsair RM650x PSU : Corsair H100i V2: Fractal Design Meshify C : EVGA RTX 2080 XC Ultra Gaming
HTPC - MSI B360-M Gaming Plus : i3 8100 : 8 GB G Skill Ripjaws V Series: EVGA 500W 80plus : EVGA GTX 1050 SC : NMedia HTPC Case: Adata 240 GB SSD Boot
Tablet - Asus Surface clone
Wife's Rig - MSI GL72M 7RDX
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2018, 07:59 PM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,284

My System Specs

Default

That mobo did exactly the same thing to me as well .
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2018, 07:20 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 79
Default

Is the bios up to date, just in case it was a bug fixed later?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2018, 03:00 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 4,206
Default

Yes it is the latest BIOS. Ill do some more testing today/tomorrow.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Corsair Obsidian 500D
Asus X99-E WS/USB3.1
i7-5820K @4.4GHZ
RTX 2070
4x8GB Corsair LPX 2666MHZ
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W GOLD
960GB ADATA SX8200 NVME
HP OMEN 32 1440p 75hz

Benq W1070 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK Vector RTX2080 FC, EK Coolstream XT 220 Rad, MCR320 Rad, EK-XTOP SPC-60 Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2018, 04:16 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 4,206
Default

So, it will boot with a 1x PCIe network card in place of one of the GPUs.

I tried a different PSU, same issue, so I can at least rule that out.

I also tried running the 2nd GPU off a PCIe riser cable, one of the x1 to x16 risers. Same issue. I put a PCIe Wifi card onto the riser and it boots fine. I also tried a PCIe 4x RAID card I had around and it also booted fine. I tried a 3rd GPU, an older HD 5770, and it failed to boot. So whatever the issue is, it has to do with the add-in cards being GPUs.

Most interestingly, I removed the 1070 and put in the 8600gs and the HD5770, and it boots with both those cards!


This is getting to be really strange and also very annoying.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Corsair Obsidian 500D
Asus X99-E WS/USB3.1
i7-5820K @4.4GHZ
RTX 2070
4x8GB Corsair LPX 2666MHZ
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W GOLD
960GB ADATA SX8200 NVME
HP OMEN 32 1440p 75hz

Benq W1070 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK Vector RTX2080 FC, EK Coolstream XT 220 Rad, MCR320 Rad, EK-XTOP SPC-60 Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res

Last edited by Cptn Vortex; August 25, 2018 at 05:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2018, 06:26 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 79
Default

Hummmm... The 8600GS and HD5770 are older, and could have vbios for BIOS. The 1070 is recent, and could only work with UEFI motherboards?

Na, that Intel DX58S02 must be UEFI anyway (check, it is)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2018, 08:14 AM
Dwayne's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 1,005

My System Specs

Default

A long shot, but on one forum someone mentioned disabling the USB 3.0 in bios as it took some PCI lanes and was a late addition to the board.
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus Prime Z370-A : i7 8700k : Corsair Vengeance 32 GB DDR4-3000 : Samsung - 960 EVO NVMe 500 GB Boot : Muskin 1 TB Reactor SATA : Crucial MX 500 1 TB SATA m.2 : Corsair RM650x PSU : Corsair H100i V2: Fractal Design Meshify C : EVGA RTX 2080 XC Ultra Gaming
HTPC - MSI B360-M Gaming Plus : i3 8100 : 8 GB G Skill Ripjaws V Series: EVGA 500W 80plus : EVGA GTX 1050 SC : NMedia HTPC Case: Adata 240 GB SSD Boot
Tablet - Asus Surface clone
Wife's Rig - MSI GL72M 7RDX
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Booting Problems tonysama916 Troubleshooting 4 February 23, 2012 06:25 PM
Computer not booting Johnlampitt Troubleshooting 8 August 8, 2011 10:20 AM
Booting from USB xilocient Troubleshooting 5 June 13, 2010 03:16 AM
Booting up = nothing gooplop Troubleshooting 12 January 5, 2008 11:32 PM
Booting with Ram 3.0charlie RAM 13 August 7, 2007 08:34 PM