Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2017, 08:35 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,051

My System Specs

Default cable modem keeps disconecting

over the past year my cable modems kept discontecting , went through allot with ISP even bought new modems had techs come out do different things , it seems as soon as I am gaming online and say torrenting a little at the same time the US disconects. I did a little search on the net and came across this video on utube called
Resolve Cable Modem Disconnects Caused by High Upstream Power Level

I am wondering if this could fix my problem it is very frustration I have a program that show when my internet disconects running I have mty PC running 24/7 and when I look at the logs it never seems to disconnect when I am at work or alseep . anyway am thinking of buying one of these https://www.amazon.com/PCT-Amplifier...+Active+Return but am not sure if it would be the correct one
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2017, 09:42 AM
bignick277's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 169

My System Specs

Default

I had a similar issue several years ago. It took them over a year to finally fix my disconnects. Turned out the power levels (not sure if it was upside or downside, it was years ago) on the cable were too high and was causing the issue. All they had to do to fix it was to plug in an inline attenuator in the back of my router between the router and the coaxial cable. I think it was a 6db inline attenuator. Haven't had a problem since.

Last edited by bignick277; September 22, 2017 at 09:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2017, 10:08 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,051

My System Specs

Default

hmm I will have to look into that maybe find some at local stores , they are allot cheaper
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2017, 07:13 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,779

My System Specs

Default

Generally amplifiers are frowned upon for cable modems.

Have you logged into your modem to check the power levels? Are you sure it's your upstream that's too high? That usually means you have the modem plugged into too many splitters.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Cable modem. DCM476 preferred zoob Buy/Sell & Trade 0 October 14, 2014 09:45 AM
[WTB] Cable Modem (teksavvy) clone63 Buy/Sell & Trade 4 August 22, 2013 07:16 PM
Multiple pc on cable modem Dan Networking 14 June 30, 2012 01:54 PM
Cable Modem Problems Pansophic Networking 6 December 18, 2010 08:26 AM
[WTB] internet cable modem mo' power Buy/Sell & Trade 11 July 19, 2010 12:39 PM