Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2017, 05:47 AM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,943

My System Specs

Default New 1080 Ti installed, keyboard not detected on boot... whaa?

So put the new 1080 Ti in last night and everything is working in Windows. Then I did some reboots and noticed a strange issue.

On boot up everything hangs on the ASUS motherboard screen until it eventually states no keyboard detected, then it appears to detect it after that long pause, and it carries on. That happens most times. However a couple times it wouldn't recover. Pressing the reset button results in everything getting detected fine and a normal boot. Only thing I changed was to uninstall the NVIDIA driver and software, remove the old video card, install new card, reinstall NVIDIA stuff.

After some Googling it looks like perhaps a motherboard BIOS update is required, at least that fixed the issue on some Gigabyte boards, but I don't understand why. Why would changing a video card result in a change in keyboard detection? I don't mind doing the BIOS update, but I would really like to know what changed to cause this oddity.

Anyone know what is happening here or seen this behaviour before?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2017, 10:44 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 4,014
Default

Back in the old days, hardware was not plug and play. You had to set jumpers on the add in to assign interrupts, base memory addresses etc. Modern plug and play hardware the bios does this automatically. My guess is your bios cannot recognize the new 1080ti properly and is assigning resources from your keyboard to it. Like dhcp gone wrong. I've seen issues similar to this when the hardware is newer than the motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2017, 10:49 AM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 576

My System Specs

Default Most likely it is the mobo issue

Gigabyte is

I got Gigabyte 880GMA-UDH2 + Zotac GTX970 = Headache

Gigabyte 880GMA-UDH2 (F5) + Phenom 2 1090t. Works fine with 7770.
Disabled onboard GPU, DDU AMD drivers.
BIOS posts, Win10x64 is getting stuck at windows logo.

Trying to boot from the installation disc. It is getting stuck at windows logo. Disconnecting boot HD, booting from DVD - same thing, stuck at windows logo.

Plugging 7770 back - everything is back to normal.
Plugging GTX970 into the older P5Q-E + Q9650 - works nicely, UserBenchmark test passes.
__________________
486
Fractal Design R6 + Seasonic PRIME Ultra 750W
Asus X299 TUF Mark 2 + Intel i9-9820X + G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 8GB x 4
Samsung 970 Pro 512GB + Samsung 950 Pro 512GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + HGST 5400RPM 2TB
Evga GTX 1080 FTW 8GB + BenQ BL3201PH 4K 32"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2017, 10:55 AM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,943

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
Back in the old days, hardware was not plug and play. You had to set jumpers on the add in to assign interrupts, base memory addresses etc. Modern plug and play hardware the bios does this automatically. My guess is your bios cannot recognize the new 1080ti properly and is assigning resources from your keyboard to it. Like dhcp gone wrong. I've seen issues similar to this when the hardware is newer than the motherboard.
I remember those old days *shudder*. So based on that then perhaps the BIOS update would make sense? To allow the older motherboard to recognize the newer GPU correctly? The latest BIOS for my board was put out in 2015 so still old even if I do update. I didn't check yet, hopefully I'm not already on the newest one!

I wouldn't have thought there was that much difference between the 1070 and the 1080 Ti but something is going on.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2017, 10:58 AM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,943

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 486 View Post
Gigabyte is

I got Gigabyte 880GMA-UDH2 + Zotac GTX970 = Headache

Gigabyte 880GMA-UDH2 (F5) + Phenom 2 1090t. Works fine with 7770.
Disabled onboard GPU, DDU AMD drivers.
BIOS posts, Win10x64 is getting stuck at windows logo.

Trying to boot from the installation disc. It is getting stuck at windows logo. Disconnecting boot HD, booting from DVD - same thing, stuck at windows logo.

Plugging 7770 back - everything is back to normal.
Plugging GTX970 into the older P5Q-E + Q9650 - works nicely, UserBenchmark test passes.
Is this post in here because it is similar issue 486? Did you try updating the BIOS? When I was looking online last night the BIOS update did seem to fix the Gigabyte board's issue. I have ASUS so just hoping it might work for me too.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2017, 11:00 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 3,897

My System Specs

Default

I've got to agree. Gigabyte has given me bad experiences, easily the most out of all manufacturers. So much so that I refuse to buy any of their products because I'm worried statistically of running in to problems with them.

That being said, Squee is probably on to something. This seems similar to not having the right CPU microcode ID in a bios, and unable to boot with a new CPU.
__________________
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2017, 11:14 AM
Bartacus's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ottawa, Canuckistan
Posts: 440

My System Specs

Default

I know Asus had some keyboard-specific issues with the Crosshair IV Hero, which they fixed with a BIOS update, but it was related to a specific keyboard, not a GPU. But it was an acknowledged issue, and it was corrected.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2017, 11:20 AM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 576

My System Specs

Default

Latest BIOS is F5, and that's what I got. May be re-flash of the same BIOS will help, I will try.
__________________
486
Fractal Design R6 + Seasonic PRIME Ultra 750W
Asus X299 TUF Mark 2 + Intel i9-9820X + G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 8GB x 4
Samsung 970 Pro 512GB + Samsung 950 Pro 512GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + HGST 5400RPM 2TB
Evga GTX 1080 FTW 8GB + BenQ BL3201PH 4K 32"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2017, 11:27 AM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,943

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I'll go ahead with the BIOS update too and report back. Can't hurt right? (famous last words...)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2017, 06:16 PM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,943

My System Specs

Default

- So did the BIOS update to the latest, no problem.

- Did a couple of reboots, appeared to be having the same issue. I noticed that my USB hub was also not getting powered or identified when the issue occurred.

- Made it into the BIOS with a reset and tried disabling Fast Boot. After researching I understood Fast Boot is supposed to allow for faster boot up by enabling only a minimal set of USB devices. On by default but sounded like a good thing to disable in this scenario.

- Two full power offs and two restarts and things appear to be working fine now. All picked up, the hub and the keyboard, and completed a normal boot.

So hoping that is the solution, so far so good.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wont boot.... just installed another cpu hohohee Troubleshooting 5 July 27, 2011 09:50 AM
USB Keyboard & MSI PM8M3-V on boot up BMWDriver Troubleshooting 1 March 14, 2009 10:44 PM
Unable to boot from Windows disk, no input from PS2/USB keyboard the_bandit87 Troubleshooting 6 March 1, 2009 01:02 PM
My Boot settings (Bootsect.bak/Boot directory) installed to another HDD? chouchou Troubleshooting 7 December 21, 2008 08:46 PM
Cant boot into Vista after i Installed Xp Dashock Troubleshooting 2 September 4, 2008 04:19 PM