Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2017, 01:00 AM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 1,304

My System Specs

Exclamation Ups about to fail?

Recently I been getting a warning in win 10 that only pops up when I load a game or start encoding a project in Sony Vegas that's saying you're running on less then 5 mins of power plus unplug some devices.

Iv never had that in all the years this rigs been running. I installed the software for the ups have it plugged into a usb 2 port on back of computer.

Iv done weekly tests with it and it's passed everytime without a issue popping up. The only things plugged in is the computer itself.the router and my monitor.

Wondering if it's time to buy replacement batteries for this ups it's a 1500 watt ups cost about $350 when I bought it from ncix. It's got that pure sine wave 2 tech built in.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2017, 06:08 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chilliwack...Time Is Just A Rubber Band....
Posts: 681
Default

The short answer is yes. Replace your batteries and you should be good for a few more years. Shop around as prices vary greatly. Also be aware that Amp Hour rating can vary in the same size package.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2017, 05:41 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,018
Default

ECHO that Valkyrie said
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2017, 09:34 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 1,304

My System Specs

Default

Ok well it's served me well for nearly 6 years since my build. It deserves a clean start I'll look into batteries that are compatible and if they'd actually ship to Canada or least my part of Canada.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2017, 06:45 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chilliwack...Time Is Just A Rubber Band....
Posts: 681
Default

Yeah, I think my first set lasted about six years also. The second set lasted about four years, but were a lower AH rating than the originals. The dimensions were the same, but I wasn't able to find the higher AH type locally. I'm currently trying to source the higher rated ones in my general area.

You should have no problem finding a Canadian supplier that will ship to you. Those AGM type Sealed Lead Acid batteries are pretty darn safe to deal with, as batteries go.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2017, 07:51 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,948

My System Specs

Default

It's not finding somebody willing to ship, it's finding somebody willing to ship at a reasonable price. Getting replacement batteries shipped down to Atlantic Canada was crazy expensive except for options through Amazon.ca which had a flat rate shipping option.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
Lian-Li PC-011 Air (RGB) / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Screen
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2017, 04:00 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chilliwack...Time Is Just A Rubber Band....
Posts: 681
Default

Absolutely agree sswilson. I had suggested the OP shop around. It seems he has a pretty good UPS that is worth a new set of batteries, unless they cost a large fraction of a new unit.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2017, 10:23 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 1,304

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I'll have to get new batteries for this I'll do some searching on days off. I'll need to buy another one as well since I'll be setting up a HTPC. With my current build. Ty guys thought something was off when I seen the messages even in win 7. I'll get in finding replacement batteries shortly.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2017, 01:02 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chilliwack...Time Is Just A Rubber Band....
Posts: 681
Default

I am hesitant to say it but be careful. I suspect the counterfeiters are a force in the Battery Industry. Try to buy from a vendor with a track record......but you know that......sorry
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2017, 02:53 AM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 1,304

My System Specs

Default

This is what iv found for my ups Replacement Batteries
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fail clshades Off Topic 13 January 3, 2012 08:25 PM
cp fedex puro ups fail + canada computers fail _dangtx_ Off Topic 21 May 22, 2011 12:16 PM
UPS Fail? ToXic Off Topic 8 December 8, 2010 10:39 PM
PM + Big Pictures = Fail Lpfan4ever Suggestions & Feedback 1 July 10, 2009 08:25 PM
Wow... alienware fail... Realityshift Off Topic 32 May 14, 2009 02:38 PM