Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2017, 12:06 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 3
Default Overclocking Troubles

Hi,

I have an ASUS B250-F Strix MOBO paired with an i5 7600k. Now I got this MOBO because it was fairly cheap compared to some Z270 alternatives. I was worried that it wasn't capable to have the CPU overclocked, but ASUS assured me that the MOBO is able to overclock. Bottom line is I can not for the life of me figure out where/how to do it. I've watched plenty of tutorials and I'm pretty savvy when it comes to tech, but it just seems like I don't have the same overclocking options in the bios as others do. Did I buy the wrong board, or is there a way I can put my 7600k to work and overclock it? Please help!

Last edited by MBeau; July 1, 2017 at 09:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2017, 06:49 PM
Coach's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 1,142

My System Specs

Default

B350... that is an AMD board right? i5 7600k, that is an intel CPU so ya. YOu have more than overclocking problems
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2017, 07:25 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,723

My System Specs

Default

I suspect you meant B250? As far as I know, overclocking is only supported on the Z270 chipset.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2017, 09:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 3
Default

Sorry I meant B250...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2017, 09:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
I suspect you meant B250? As far as I know, overclocking is only supported on the Z270 chipset.
Yeah I meant b250 sorry about that, so B250 isn't overclockable?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2017, 09:29 PM
Coach's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 1,142

My System Specs

Default

That is correct, B250 there is no cpu overclocking. You need Z270
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
asus , overclocking i5 7600k

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win 7 SP1 troubles grifter11 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 July 4, 2011 08:06 AM
laptop troubles cmac79 Troubleshooting 4 March 18, 2011 11:52 AM
P5Q-E Troubles Kattivo Troubleshooting 26 November 11, 2010 05:18 PM
Wireless Troubles LaurentYe HardwareCanucks F@H Team 0 May 4, 2009 11:05 PM
PS3 F@H troubles Mr. Gruntsworthy HardwareCanucks F@H Team 12 March 28, 2009 01:20 PM