Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2017, 05:39 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,769

My System Specs

Default AMD R9 290x doesn't like my PC ### SOLVED ###

OK, you can see my specs. Here's my issue: ASUS R9 290X CUII 4GB causes my PC to lockup. It worked OK for about a week after the install, now it just locks up after 5-10 minutes and I have major issues getting Eyefinity to work.

Fast forward to today and I finally got a chance to pop it into my son's PC which has a Gigabyte Z97 motherboard and i5-4670 and PC P&C 500W PSU (newer model). While I don't have anything 3D installed that I can run on his PC, it is not locking up on desktop like it would on my PC.

So, while I really want to blame my power supply, any chance my motherboard, a basic Intel workstation DQ67SW, just is incompatible with it? I don't want to buy a PSU for nothing and I was really hoping to not have to buy a motherboard.

I have no artifacting when the R9 is in my PC and my PC does not lock up until after I install video drivers.
__________________



Last edited by b1lk1; May 6, 2017 at 01:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2017, 08:00 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chilliwack...Time Is Just A Rubber Band....
Posts: 637
Default

I suspect it is killing your power supply. It is a relatively power hungry card and the instantaneous draw while in 3D mode is likely the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2017, 08:12 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,803

My System Specs

Default

I looked at it and that PSU only has 18 Amps. Not enough. The 290X requires at least 33 amps.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2017, 09:00 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,769

My System Specs

Default

It's a multi rail supposed to have 4 18A 12V+ lines.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2017, 09:31 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,838

My System Specs

Default

SPARKLE R-FSP700-80ETN 700W ATX12V V2.3 / EPS12V V2.92 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready | eBay

Is that the one there? (I used that link because it's got some pretty decent images... :) ).

If so... couple of things.... are you using both PCIe cables? The two cables are on separate rails so you should be using one cable for the 8 pin and the other one for the 6 pin. The other question would be the makeup of the cables... are they true 8 pin connectors where the extra pins have their own wires from the PSU, or are they the 6+2 where the extra 2 are just split off of the existing 6 pin grounds?
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2017, 09:35 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,769

My System Specs

Default

Yes, that is the one. It has a true 8 wires for the 8 pin. I tried using both as well.

Biggest reason I am really thinking it is the motherboard is that this setup DID work for almost a week before failing to boot. Reinstalling Windows 10 (4 times) would be OK until driver install then it became unstable. Same with Windows 7. Installing the R9 in my son's PC was completely stable with a 500W PSU ( PC P&C 500W).

I really don't want to tear into my son's PC and swap power supplies, I truly hate messing with someone's computer.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2017, 09:45 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,838

My System Specs

Default

Hard to know for sure, but I'd still lean towards the PSU. That's a power hungry card and even with the two rails (that can't be a "tried" btw... that's the only configuration you should be using with a multi rail) it's still close to the max rating on both combined. It might also be the PCIe slot power itself... there's no auxiliary molex connector on the motherboard is there? (I couldn't see one from the pic I pulled up).

Power hungry cards like this are why I switched to big fat single rails in the first place. :)
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2017, 10:09 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,769

My System Specs

Default

This is a business class motherboard, there is only a 4 pin connector for the CPU and nothing else besides the 24 pin.

I also feel it is the PCI-E slot not giving enough juice.

I hear yah on the single rail, but this should be enough. I've had it for a few years, but it has not seen heavy use and I did buy it new. Worst part is trying to find a reasonably priced MATX S1155 motherboard.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2017, 10:15 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,924

My System Specs

Default

Swap the PSU's first. Easy to do and you have them there. Then if you are still having issues it's the mobo. But I can almost guarantee it's the PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2017, 11:09 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,769

My System Specs

Default

This is, by far, the most power hungry PC I have built in 5+ years so it's time to hunt down a PSU I guess.
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] WTT 290X Tri-X - Ref 290X (WC'ing Stuff - Slim 240 Rad, MCP35X Pump, CPU Block) JoeOnePack Buy/Sell & Trade 6 June 11, 2014 03:52 AM
[FS] R9 290X, GIGABYTE GV-R929XOC-4GD Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit gerardfraser Buy/Sell & Trade 2 May 3, 2014 06:14 PM
Doesn't Seem To Be Too Responsive As Before geokilla New Builds 4 September 16, 2012 11:54 AM
Second gtx 275 doesn't want to fold Ogdin HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 October 9, 2009 10:21 AM
bought some ram but doesn't pc doesn't want to boot Shadowmeph RAM 13 February 22, 2009 01:58 PM