Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2016, 04:24 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Default Disappearing Hard Drive

In my custom build PC (specs below) that I built about one year ago, and have been having this problem with for the past 2 months or so. I'm having an issue with one of my HDDs disappearing at random times. None of the programs stored on it can be accessed, and it doesn't show up in File Explorer. This happens usually after the computer goes to sleep, but can be resolved by restarting my computer. I have an SSD for my OS and main programs, but I use a HDD for games, and another mass storage. This problem only happens with my game storage drive. I have gotten a warranty replacement hard drive from Western Digital to transfer all my data onto, and have tried switching the SATA port that my HDD is plugged into on my motherboard. I have also checked under the settings that the drive is not set to go to sleep at a certain time as well. Do you guys have and suggestions I could try to stop this problem? Thanks guys!

Specs:
CPU: i7-6700
Mobo: Asus Z170-AR
GPU: EVGA 970SC
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 (8x2)
Storage: Samsung 850 Evo for OS, 2x WD Black for mass storage.
PSU: 750w 80+Gold from EVGA
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2016, 04:33 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,947

My System Specs

Default

If it only happens after sleep/hibernate my first guess would be chipset driver related. Did you install the motherboard's drivers and ensure they're updated to the most recent versions? (As opposed to just letting windows install drivers).

I've never been a big fan of Sleep/Hibernate mode(s). Too many of these kinds of issues popping up.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
Lian-Li PC-011 Air (RGB) / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Screen
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2016, 04:39 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,018
Default

power connectors and data cables worst sinario dirty power for wall outlet

also what OS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2016, 05:30 PM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,284

My System Specs

Default

Yes first of all why does it go to sleep? I keep my desktop on max performance profile all the time when is on and it never goes to sleep as is always doing something most of the time just downloads. Also in the performance profiles i think there is an option that says to link/unlink pcie power management to the disk subsystem or something like that and it requires a restart to change the option. Otherwise i would say flaky sata port, cable, or dying hdd. But I would just stop the whole hybernate/sleep attitude, too many issues as you can see.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2016, 02:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3
Default

I have problem after wake up.My PC restart ,and also no post before restart.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2016, 03:45 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,434

My System Specs

Default

check your connections and drivers,
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2016, 01:17 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3
Default

I am trying now fresh restart with open one by one browser,and it continue fast .It can't be that top browsers have conflicts ?!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2017, 07:15 AM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 1,303

My System Specs

Default

My 8tb drive did same thing for main server it was the connector it's on 24/7 so vibration was enough to loosen I bought uv blue SATA cables with lock mechanism hasnt lost drive yet.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
disappearing , disconnecting , hard drive , hdd

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
That Disappearing Rez level KaptCrunch Water Cooling 3 April 6, 2014 06:14 AM
[WTB] DDR3 SODIMM, 2.5" Hard Drive, Hard Drive Enclosure TopDogZero Buy/Sell & Trade 2 May 20, 2011 04:24 PM
Disappearing OS? dadzilla Troubleshooting 7 March 16, 2009 09:30 PM