Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2016, 04:54 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default Wifi requently droping on android devices using Unifi AP and Rogers modem.

I have been having this issue for quite a while now. It started one day while I was using my Moto X play I figured then it was just the phone but I now have a OnePlus 3 and the same problem is happening. The thing is, none of my other wifi devices seem to be having an issue (Laptop, SmartTV, RPi2). It happens almost every min but connects back up with a second or two. But enough to kill certain downloads.

Im using my ceiling mounted Unifi AC Lite AP that is hardwired to my modem(CGN3ACSMR) using POE. I have the wifi on my Rogers modem disabled. I thought maybe this could be a unifi problem but when I disabled it and tested using an open and secure connection using my modem to test, it also had the same issue.

Its really hard for me to pinpoint the source of this issue. It just sort of happened one morning maybe after an update somewhere. I did a wifi scan of my area and seems to be quite a bit of 2.4ghz traffic so I tested different channels with no luck. Issue is happening on 5hz and im the only one in the area.

In the modem logs this seems to be happening on a daily basis. Not sure if it has anything to do with it but worth mentioning. I have done a reset on the AP but not the modem yet.

19 12/04/16 09:08:33 68010300 error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=f0:f2:49:a3:7d:10;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:91:a3:a0;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

20 12/04/16 23:29:56 82000200 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=f0:f2:49:a3:7d:10;CMTS-MAC=00:17:10:91:a3:a0;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2016, 06:00 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,724

My System Specs

Default

Which firmware and controller version are you using?

I'd suggesting trying UniFi 5.3.8: https://community.ubnt.com/t5/UniFi-...d/ba-p/1746402 and once you install that, upgrade your AP to 3.7.28.5442.

There's been a lot of improvements for disconnect issues over on the beta forum. I'm running the above on a AP-AC-LR without any issues.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2016, 06:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Which firmware and controller version are you using?

I'd suggesting trying UniFi 5.3.8: https://community.ubnt.com/t5/UniFi-...d/ba-p/1746402 and once you install that, upgrade your AP to 3.7.28.5442.

There's been a lot of improvements for disconnect issues over on the beta forum. I'm running the above on a AP-AC-LR without any issues.

I'm on the latest stable for firmware and controller. Il check into and see. But my concern if I disabled the ap and tested with the rogers wifi and it still happens how can it be the unifi that's the issue?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2016, 08:21 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,724

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biggyk View Post
I'm on the latest stable for firmware and controller. Il check into and see. But my concern if I disabled the ap and tested with the rogers wifi and it still happens how can it be the unifi that's the issue?
The Rogers' modems have a lot of WiFi issues too There's beta firmware for the modem that you can sign up for too on the Rogers forums.

On the UniFi controller, under Settings > Wireless Networks > Edit Wireless Network, do you have "Enable Unscheduled Automatic Power Save Delivery" on or off? Maybe your phones just aren't playing nice with UAPSD.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2016, 08:31 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
The Rogers' modems have a lot of WiFi issues too There's beta firmware for the modem that you can sign up for too on the Rogers forums.

On the UniFi controller, under Settings > Wireless Networks > Edit Wireless Network, do you have "Enable Unscheduled Automatic Power Save Delivery" on or off? Maybe your phones just aren't playing nice with UAPSD.
Oh really? Il have to check out that Beta too.

Power save option is off.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2016, 10:10 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default

On the Rogers beta now and also updated the unifi controller and ap to the beta but no luck still same issue.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2016, 05:21 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,724

My System Specs

Default

Are you using the same Google account on both phones? Maybe try forgetting the network on both and re-connecting?

I have UAPSD enabled on mine and my brother has a OP3, he hasn't mentioned any issues with the WiFi to me...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2016, 05:23 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default

No I gave the Moto X to my mother but i wiped it first then put her account on it. Im kinda suspecting maybe its an app doing it because I dont really notice it happening on the Moto now.

Earlier I tried loweing the TX level to low but that didnt solve the problem
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2016, 06:09 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,838

My System Specs

Default

Do you use any kind of aggressive power saving settings on your cell phones?
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2016, 06:10 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default

Nope not at all.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Android to Android remote desktop? biff Mobile Computing 4 July 28, 2013 09:26 PM
using router wifi if PC doesn't have wifi card? Shadowmeph Networking 12 May 4, 2013 05:47 PM
Getting Shaw... Use their WiFi modem? ExpendableG4M3R Networking 4 December 3, 2012 04:43 PM
Android performance doubled; coming to CM9 soon [Talk Android] chrisk Mobile Computing 3 June 11, 2012 03:58 PM
Rogers modem question Lpfan4ever Networking 2 February 18, 2010 03:46 PM