Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2016, 06:06 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 293

My System Specs

Question Pagefile.sys way too huge

Hey guys,

I'm trying to free up space and the biggest file that came up from windirstat is pagefile.sys. It is at 16GB (roughly). The thing is, I current have 16GB of DDR3. Why is windows using so much pagefile when I clearly have too much for my needs (I game, that's it)?

Should I disable the pagefile completely?
__________________
Mayoo

Gameplay > Graphics ... oh wait

Food > Gameplay > Graphics > Movies > Sleep > Work
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2016, 06:42 AM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,259

My System Specs

Default

Because you allow it. Over 8GB of ram and Windows 7 there are little known situations where you will need a pagefile. Just disable it. At 4GB things might be different but 8GB and over is not really needed.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2016, 06:48 AM
jalmir's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Montreal
Posts: 202

My System Specs

Default

You can make it smaller or disable it if you really want;

Win+R
type "sysdm.cpl"
Go in the Advanced tab
Under "Performance" click on "Settings"
Go to the Advanced tab
Under "Virtual memory" click "Change"
Uncheck "Automatically manage paging file ..."

Go ham!

Don't forget to click "Set" when changing or disabling the pagefile for one drive!
__________________
It’s hard to win an argument with a smart person, but it’s damn near impossible to win an argument with a stupid person.
-Bill Murray
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2016, 09:11 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,043

My System Specs

Default

try it with it disabled if you get crashes then enable it and maybe move it to a separate drive
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2016, 11:27 AM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,259

My System Specs

Default

You can also make it a fixed size, setting the same value for min and max. You need to reboot after clicking on Set for the change to be in effect.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2016, 02:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 19

My System Specs

Default

Windows automatically sets the page file equal to the amount of ram in the system and maybe more--don't ask me why. Some of my first SSDs were small and didn't want to sacrifice the storage to pagefile. As others mentioned, you can set it to a custom size which is what I do--it is limited to 1 or 2 gigs. There is always the question if the pagefile is really needed so to be safe I let it have a couple of gigs to be satisfied. I'm on W7 and don't know if it still does that with the newer versions--haven't checked in Windows 10 but I need to.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2016, 07:41 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 4,014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tordogs View Post
Windows automatically sets the page file equal to the amount of ram in the system and maybe more--don't ask me why.

It's set to ram size for crash dumps.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2016, 12:03 PM
Rison's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 1,132

My System Specs

Default

I typically have it set to start at 0 and max 4096. I could care less about crash dumps, I routinely save my work if I'm doing anything important. That's on a 4-8G system. Anything over 8G I disable.

If you have a smaller SSD, say - 64G or whatever, this makes a big difference.

Second to that is disabling hibernate, so you don't have a hiberfil.sys.
that's just 'powercfg -h off' at a command prompt.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2016, 12:34 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,284
Default

Crashdumps + whoCrashed can help you track down a gremlin mate. Personally I would move it off the OS and stick on another drive and call it good enough. Hard set it to RAM or 2X RAM size.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2016, 12:30 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,751

My System Specs

Default

Plus 1 on killing the hibernation file. There's 12 gigs of wasted space.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win7 pagefile with SSD... BrainEater O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 September 26, 2011 04:08 PM
Multiple PageFile.Sys Instances..? _dangtx_ Storage 1 August 18, 2011 11:24 AM
My DVD reincode is Huge Shadowmeph Guides & How-to's 13 July 12, 2011 11:29 AM
[WTB] huge pc case kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 17 December 23, 2009 10:57 PM
Pagefile Constantly Being Accessed Stolm Troubleshooting 37 August 18, 2008 11:27 AM