Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2016, 07:25 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,043

My System Specs

Default RX 480 fan controler problem?

Finally got my Rx 480 installed it I ran a simple benchmark the temperature went up to around 72c . I stopped the bench mark watched a few Videos off the PC looked at the temperature *( this is about 2 hrs later) temperature was still around 72c the rest of my system is around 42c . I looked at the fan speed and it shows running at 19% not sure what is up with that . I installed the newest Drivers from AMD just right after I did the install.
Any one have any suggestions? I am currently using Open hardware manager to manually turn the Fan up to cool the vid card down
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2016, 09:18 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,641
Default

Sounds like an MSI Twin Frozr?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2016, 02:48 AM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

No i think he has this one XFX AMD Radeon RX 480 1288MHZ 8GB DDR5 3xDP / HDMI PCI-E 3.0 VR Premium Video Card - NCIX.com
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2016, 07:53 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Brockville, ON
Posts: 552

My System Specs

Default

you installed newest drivers from AMD, did you do a proper cleaning of old drivers for video card, or is this a complete new build drivers and all?
although I dont mind the new drivers from AMD, they should have not bothered putting overclocking/controls into it, and allowed 3rd party such as afterburner to continue to do so(IMO they are much better looking and more customizable then overdrive/wattman is)

This is my guess anyways, old drivers written over by new and not in a "fresh state"(one could install the same drivers again as I had read somewhere that this "fixes" some installs that did not go well for vid card drviers for some odd reason) that being said, there was this report I noticed other day, maybe it effects fan speed as well, this am not sure
Do Not Use AMD 16.7.3 Drivers: Corruption, Hard Crashes, & OC Limit | Gamers Nexus - Gaming PC Builds & Hardware Benchmarks
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2016, 10:38 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,043

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
That is the Card.
as for the drivers maybe I will do a cleanup and reinstall fresh ones , I didn't think that it would matter because my older card was AMD Vid card
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2016, 12:45 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,043

My System Specs

Default

Grrr so I did a uninstall reinstall now the drivers are not working at all GPUz shows my card but it shows Microsoft basic driver.
Edit
ok after the tenth time uninstalling deleting the AMD folders runing the reg cleaner shutting down unplugging my PSU pushing the power button to get rid of any residule power powering back up I got the newest drivers to install. so far my Temperatures are around 45c idle which is allot better then before I will see how it takes. I tried to install the 16.7.2 drivers a few times before but for some reason they just wouldn't load up after reboot, .

Last edited by Shadowmeph; August 4, 2016 at 01:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2016, 01:50 PM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

That doesn't sound like smooth sailing. Maybe a win reinstall should be in order?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2016, 02:41 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,043

My System Specs

Default

ya I have approximately 500GB of games installed which is going to be a real pain in the arse . I wonder if I should grab an SSD for my windows install I am currently using a 1 TB SSHD Seagate hybrid drive which works great but thinking of upgrading if I do then all I need to do is install on new drive most likely quick install less hassle . been a while since I have done a fresh install lol
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could a hardware problem cause a driver problem? LaughingCrow Troubleshooting 4 January 19, 2012 11:46 AM
Steam connection problem (Problem Fixed) great_big_abyss Gaming 3 January 10, 2012 05:37 PM
Hard drive problem or Windows 7 Problem?! aeminence New Builds 4 October 13, 2011 06:46 AM
could this be a game problem or a video driver problem? Shadowmeph Troubleshooting 4 December 17, 2010 07:01 AM
Looking for good Fan Controler/Ti for 5.25" bay Jmark Water Cooling 1 September 24, 2009 08:31 AM