Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2016, 01:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,751

My System Specs

Default psu dying???

Seems to me it's causing system crashes but I'm not 100% sure. Black Ops 3 runs for a few minutes then sound locks up (repeating sounds) gotta hardboot and try again. I've tried re-setting the bios multiple times and got it to work once and I can see the lower voltage in the bios as well.

HW monitor shows it, Aida shows the lower voltage and the bios obviously shows it. Can I bump it up in the bios somehow? This is a rampage 4 extreme.

It's an EVGA supernova 850w PSU. I am running 12 1500rpm fans on a fan controller.

Bios is the newest. 4901

Just wondering if the PSU is crapping out or whats going on here. Very annoying.

What exactly does the 3.3v run on the computer that I need to worry about?

The whole system is running off a decent 1500va battery back up which I just replaced the battery packs in 6 months ago.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2016, 03:11 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,751

My System Specs

Default

ok well... i may have a corrupted local user account. (the main) I keep getting pop ups. Nsis and something about a not writing to a temp folder. So far things seem stable for the moment.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2016, 05:58 PM
Rison's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 1,132

My System Specs

Default

Check system logs for errors.
Update all drivers, chipset included.
Possible OS issue, not nardware.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2016, 06:00 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,751

My System Specs

Default

Ok thanks i'll try that tomorrow. Got a one off night shift in a couple hours to tie in an irrigation supply to the main.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2016, 06:48 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,431

My System Specs

Default

Usefull fore your bag off stuff.

"ThermalTake


Dr. Power II Power Supply Tester" MemEX




sorry fore fonts copy and pasted...
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2016, 02:49 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,011
Default

other blast air to clean out PSU

an clear errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSIS
errors may occur under one of the following conditions:
1. Software files downloaded from the Internet are not complete.
2. Downloaded software files have been modified from the original version.
3. Your PC is infected with a virus.
4. Physical media being used to install the program is damaged.
5. Required hardware (For example, CD/DVD drive) is malfunctioning.

looks like #2, 4 may the issue
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2016, 07:14 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,751

My System Specs

Default

I'm gonna have to chalk this up as a corrupted user. I cannot find what is causing the instability but from some of my searches this seems to be a common theme with windows 10.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible dying mobo? moocow Troubleshooting 2 December 25, 2011 04:43 PM
Router dying? Aimbayya Networking 4 December 8, 2011 12:00 PM
GPU dying? Or ???? RainMaker Troubleshooting 11 December 13, 2009 08:09 AM
CPU dying??? Lamb Troubleshooting 9 December 8, 2009 02:10 PM
hot psu = dying? belinik Power Supplies 2 November 24, 2009 08:13 PM