Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2016, 09:53 PM
Prolab's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brampton
Posts: 496

My System Specs

Default Origin and Dropboxes services wont start

A few days ago, i was doing some troubleshooting and disabled all my services. I found the culprit, fixed it, re-enabled all non-windows services and all is well. Or so i thought...

I wanted to play BF4, and notice it keeps telling me i was offline. I thought Origin was having issues and went to double check - everything is working on their end.

So, i started the process of elimination. Checked if i was having problems with windows firewall. Nope, i added BF4 to the whitelist. Ive connected my gaming PC directly to the cable modem and Origin is still saying i was offline. And that's where i found out that my dropbox isn't syncing.

I thought both apps not connecting was odd, so ive uninstalled/re-installed both apps and see if that works. Im still showing offline on both Origin and Dropbox. Ive also un-installed my Avast anti-virus to get to the bottom of this problem.

So i checked under services.msc and msconfig and see if both services are starting.

Under Services.msc:

Anything related to Dropbox and Origin, i enabled to automatically start. Rebooted and tried logging again. Nada. Origin and Dropbox still doesn't work.

However, under MSconfig: All the Dropbox services and Origin services are stopped. Im pretty sure this is the reason why im unable to connect. How do i enable them?

I tried the following:

MSCONFIG -> Services tab -> Hide all Microsoft services -> Disable all -> reboot

MSCONFIG -> Services tab -> Hide all Microsoft services -> Enable all -> reboot

But services is still showing stopped on all the Dropbox and Origin services. Although, they're setup as automatic under Services.msc.

Anything else i should try before i reset my Windows?

Which id rather not right now
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Caselab STH10, Swiffy MCP35x2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, HWL GTX 360, Heatkiller IV, i7 5930k @ 4.5 Ghz, 16GB Ripjaws, Asus X99 Deluxe ii, (2) XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, 240 GB Intel 530, 500 GB 850 EVO, (6) 3 TB Tosh HD, EVGA G2 1300 PSU, Win 10 Pro

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ 4.0 Ghz, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Asus 290, 128 GB Crucial M4, (2) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 2 TB Sammy F4, (2) 5 TB Tosh HD, Enthoo Primo, XSPC 480, 240 HWL GTS, Corsair HX620, Win 10 Pro

Last edited by Prolab; May 30, 2016 at 11:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2016, 03:05 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,011
Default

did you make a restore point ? before messing with services can try to go back

can router ping origin mite be your modem failing if other connections aren't working
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2016, 08:52 AM
Prolab's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brampton
Posts: 496

My System Specs

Default

Went back to last week restore point and im still having that problem. Also, went back to last month, but of course it got corrupted and im unable restore it .

Well, ive been having modem issues the past few weeks. Connection just keep dropping and had to reboot the modem a handful of times now. I just see that as a separate issue from Origin and dropbox.

Im able to play on steam, uplay and blizzard online and go on the web as well.

My HTPC also has dropbox installed and Origin and i can log on fine on that computer. That tells me my problem is only isolated on ky gaming PC.
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Caselab STH10, Swiffy MCP35x2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, HWL GTX 360, Heatkiller IV, i7 5930k @ 4.5 Ghz, 16GB Ripjaws, Asus X99 Deluxe ii, (2) XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, 240 GB Intel 530, 500 GB 850 EVO, (6) 3 TB Tosh HD, EVGA G2 1300 PSU, Win 10 Pro

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ 4.0 Ghz, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Asus 290, 128 GB Crucial M4, (2) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 2 TB Sammy F4, (2) 5 TB Tosh HD, Enthoo Primo, XSPC 480, 240 HWL GTS, Corsair HX620, Win 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2016, 03:56 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,723

My System Specs

Default

Are you talking about the "Dropbox Update Service" and "Origin Client Service"? These are not running on my system either, but both work fine.

You could try running "sfc /scannow" from an Admin command prompt. Sounds like you may have some OS corruption of some sort.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 1, 2016, 11:17 AM
Prolab's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brampton
Posts: 496

My System Specs

Default

Yah, but i figured the issue out.

It was my router in the first place that was giving me problems.

When i connect the PC again to my cable modem and reboot both devices, i was able to log in to Origin and dropbox.

All i had to do was restore my settings on my router and all is well.

Thanks guys
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Caselab STH10, Swiffy MCP35x2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, HWL GTX 360, Heatkiller IV, i7 5930k @ 4.5 Ghz, 16GB Ripjaws, Asus X99 Deluxe ii, (2) XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, 240 GB Intel 530, 500 GB 850 EVO, (6) 3 TB Tosh HD, EVGA G2 1300 PSU, Win 10 Pro

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ 4.0 Ghz, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Asus 290, 128 GB Crucial M4, (2) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 2 TB Sammy F4, (2) 5 TB Tosh HD, Enthoo Primo, XSPC 480, 240 HWL GTS, Corsair HX620, Win 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
comp wont start. kyle_L Troubleshooting 7 June 18, 2009 03:30 PM
Help My PC wont start up! [Noob] hen555 Troubleshooting 29 May 3, 2009 12:20 PM
new build wont start kyle_L Troubleshooting 3 March 13, 2009 10:59 AM
New build wont start at all Psycho-Designs Troubleshooting 19 April 14, 2008 01:08 PM
Windows wont start SCW O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 September 25, 2007 01:17 AM