Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2016, 12:25 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,930

My System Specs

Default X99 help in Lower Mainland

Hey all,

My main system has started not to POST. I'm hoping to find someone in the Vancouver area that might have some parts that can help me troubleshoot. I'm running a 5930K, MSI X99A SLI Krait and 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR4-2400 or was until it pooched .

Here's what I've tried so far.

Disconnected all drives and pulled all ram except one stick. Rotated ram sticks too.

CMOS reset
Battery replacement and CMOS reset
Moved to another PCI-E slot with GPU. (GPU tested good on another system)
Replaced PSU with known good PSU.
Changed to backup BIOS, battery pull and CMOS reset.

What I'd like to do is try my CPU and/or RAM in a working system. I think this is probably motherboard related so if I can confirm the CPU is good I'll RMA the mobo.

So I'm looking for help and/or suggestions. Thanks!

EDIT: I should mention I also tried a different monitor with no luck.

Last edited by SugarJ; April 10, 2016 at 12:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2016, 01:02 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,018
Default

MSI X99A SLI Krait what was the bios version current is N5

check cpu socket for bent pin or bad cmos chip(MB)

Only the FAT32/ NTFS format USB flash disk supports updating BIOS by M-FLASH, use rear usb2 ports

BIOS recovery with AFUDOS command When BIOS updating fails or causes the computer non-bootable, you can recover the failed BIOS by the steps below.
Preparation:
1. Prepare a bootable USB flash drive.
2. Download the latest BIOS file from the MSI official website at www.msi.com, and then decompress the file.
3. Copy the AFUDE238.exe and the BIOS file to the bootable USB flash drive

BIOS recovery steps:
1. Power off the system.
2. Set the Multi-BIOS switch to the functional BIOS ROM.
3. Insert the bootable USB flash drive you have made to the USB port.
4. Boot the computer into the bootable USB flash drive.
5. Set the Multi-BIOS switch to the failed BIOS ROM.
6. Execute the below command to flash the BIOS: For example: AFUDE238 EXXXXIMS.XXX
7. Restart the computer after the BIOS flashing is complete.

Important Do not use the Multi-BIOS switch when system is booting up.

AFUDE238.exe Usage: AFUDOS [Option 1] [Option 2]...
or
AFUDOS
or
AFUDOS

Commands:
/O - Save current BIOS into file
/U - Display ROM file's ROMID
/S - Refer to Options: /S
/D - Verification test of given ROM File without flashing BIOS.
/A - Refer to Options: /A
/CLNEVNLOG - Refer to Options: /CLNEVNLOG

Options:
/P - Program main BIOS image
/B - Program Boot Block
/N - Program NVRAM
/E - Program Embedded Controller Block
/K - Program all non-critical blocks and ROM Holes
/Kn - Program n'th non-critical block or ROM Hole only(n=0-7)
/Q - Silent execution
/REBOOT - Reboot after programming
/X - Don't Check ROM ID
/S - Display current system's ROMID
/R - Preserve ALL SMBIOS structure during NVRAM programming
/Rn - Preserve SMBIOS type N during programming(n=0-255)
/ECUF - Update EC BIOS when newer version is detected.
/SHUTDOWN - Shutdown after programming.
/HOLE: - Update specific ROM Hole according to RomHole GUID. NewRomHole1.BIN /HOLE:RomH1
/HOLEOUT: - Save specific ROM Hole according to given GUID. NewRomHole1.BIN /HOLEOUT:RomH1
/SP - Preserve Setup setting.
/EC - Program Embedded Controller Block. (Flash Type)
/MEUF - Program ME Ignition Firmware Block.
/ME - Program ME Entire Firmware Block.
/CAF - Compare ROM file's data with Systems is different or not, if not then cancel related update.
/A - Oem Activation file. Example: /Akey.bin will update OA key with key.bin file.
/CLNEVNLOG - Clear Event Log
Attached Images
 

Last edited by KaptCrunch; April 10, 2016 at 01:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2016, 11:11 PM
Coach's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 1,144

My System Specs

Default

RMA motherboard. That is what I would do. Isn't there an MSI RMA depot somewhere in Vancouver? Maybe you can initiate an RMA and then go over there to make the exchange. Very unlikely that it is the cpu and your troubleshooting has been thorough.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2016, 09:17 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,930

My System Specs

Default

RMA started. Knuckles savaged trying to dismount mobo without removing WC loop. Feeling faint from blood loss.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2016, 09:20 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,930

My System Specs

Default

RMA'd motherboard received back, exact same issues. Sigh. Now I have to figure out how to RMA my Retail Edge 5930K. I'm not looking forward to this.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2016, 10:09 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton(ish)
Posts: 949

My System Specs

Default

5930k was my first cpu rma. I have had dozens and dozens of chips and I used to beat on them like they owed me money. Kind of interesting to see them become less bulletproof as they shrink and become so complex.

The Rma process was surprisingly easy, but wasn't an RE chip... Hope you get it sorted.

On the up side, if you do get it rma'd, they are usually awesome chips.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2016, 07:25 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,930

My System Specs

Default

I looked it up last night, it's actually pretty easy to do seeing as I still have my invoice. But I have to take the CPU out of the board first, they want some info printed on the heatsink.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2016, 05:05 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 10

My System Specs

Default

What POST beep code you getting? Computer POST and beep codes - fit an internal mobo speaker to find out.

Check CPU socket with magnifying glass to find bent pins.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2016, 12:22 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,930

My System Specs

Default

It appears that one of the voltage regulators blew on the motherboard, taking the CPU and memory out too when it went. I was able to get the mobo and cpu RMA'd, and have since moved away from the X99 platform.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2016, 12:44 PM
Dark Knight
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
It appears that one of the voltage regulators blew on the motherboard, taking the CPU and memory out too when it went. I was able to get the mobo and cpu RMA'd, and have since moved away from the X99 platform.
That sounds like what happened to the ASUS X99 Deluxe to reviewers in 2014.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] IBM x3500 Server(Lower mainland BC) TerenceJ Buy/Sell & Trade 2 August 1, 2013 11:30 PM
Is $45-52k a year livable in The Lower Mainland? Soullessone21 Off Topic 39 July 23, 2012 11:20 PM
Where in the GVR / Lower Mainland Can i buy these? chouchou Off Topic 1 July 1, 2009 08:53 PM