Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2016, 08:28 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 760

My System Specs

Default HDD not Reading in OS but will in Bios ?

put some parts together for a cheapo build from left over parts

Asus P8H67-M Pro
Intel I3-2100
2x 2GB Corsair Value

anyways, i have 3 Spare HDD, 160GB SATA, 500GB SATA, 1TB SATA from Seagates, when in Bios you can see the same and size and i can choose either that or USB Key for boot

i use the USB Key to run 1st to install Win 8.1 and everything goes well until i have to select a drive where to install Windows.. and nothing shows up

any clue what's up ?
__________________
Intel i7 3930K / 16GB Corsair Vengence DDR3-2400
Asus X79 Rampage Extreme Black Edition / EVGA GTX 770

Corsair 480GB SSD / 1TB WD Black

IN WIN 303 / EVGA NEX750 Gold
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2016, 08:36 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,431

My System Specs

Default

Format the drive.

Custom install / remove partitions / format drive.

Only have your C: drive hooked up when you install no other drives.

You may have to mount the drives on a working PC first.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2016, 11:09 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 760

My System Specs

Default

i couldn't do anything for the partition or formating, but i'll have to put on my main pc and format the drive and try again
__________________
Intel i7 3930K / 16GB Corsair Vengence DDR3-2400
Asus X79 Rampage Extreme Black Edition / EVGA GTX 770

Corsair 480GB SSD / 1TB WD Black

IN WIN 303 / EVGA NEX750 Gold
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2016, 07:55 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 149
Default

Unlikely, but sounds as if your win 8.1 install media is missing SATA drivers for your chipset.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2016, 08:17 AM
Hewfil1's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 105

My System Specs

Default

Having the same issue, I'll try the given solution.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2016, 06:06 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 760

My System Specs

Default

weird cause i used it 2 weeks ago on a PC and it worked like every other time.. :/
__________________
Intel i7 3930K / 16GB Corsair Vengence DDR3-2400
Asus X79 Rampage Extreme Black Edition / EVGA GTX 770

Corsair 480GB SSD / 1TB WD Black

IN WIN 303 / EVGA NEX750 Gold
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2016, 06:47 AM
bignick277's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 169

My System Specs

Default

Go to Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management

When the Computer Management application starts, in the left hand column select "Disk Management". Wait for Windows to populate the list in the middle column, bottom half.

If your BIOS detects the HDD but windows doesn't, it should appear in this list. Find the HDD in this list. All you should need to do now to get access to the drive is assign it a drive letter by right clicking the entry and selecting "Change Drive Letter and Paths". You can also reformat and repartition the drive using this application. Remember this tool in windows as it is the primary disk management tool for Windows OS's, and easily one of the most useful. So take note of it for future reference.

Just be aware, that if the drive is using a non-windows format such as Linux's Ext4, then windows will not be able to mount and use that partition. It can see the drive, (it can even cause hangs when booting windows while windows can take a long to time to figure out it can't use it before giving up)., it just can't use those partitions while in windows. So if you want to use HDD's that have those partitions on them, then you will want to repartition and reformat the drive in question.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2016, 07:05 AM
jalmir's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Montreal
Posts: 202

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bignick277 View Post
Go to Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management

When the Computer Management application starts, in the left hand column select "Disk Management". Wait for Windows to populate the list in the middle column, bottom half.

If your BIOS detects the HDD but windows doesn't, it should appear in this list. Find the HDD in this list. All you should need to do now to get access to the drive is assign it a drive letter by right clicking the entry and selecting "Change Drive Letter and Paths". You can also reformat and repartition the drive using this application. Remember this tool in windows as it is the primary disk management tool for Windows OS's, and easily one of the most useful. So take note of it for future reference.

Just be aware, that if the drive is using a non-windows format such as Linux's Ext4, then windows will not be able to mount and use that partition. It can see the drive, (it can even cause hangs when booting windows while windows can take a long to time to figure out it can't use it before giving up)., it just can't use those partitions while in windows. So if you want to use HDD's that have those partitions on them, then you will want to repartition and reformat the drive in question.

Hope this helps.
That would work if he had Windows already installed, re-read his post, OP is trying to install Windows and the HDD don't show during Windows installation.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2016, 07:11 AM
jalmir's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Montreal
Posts: 202

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r0k0 View Post
put some parts together for a cheapo build from left over parts

Asus P8H67-M Pro
Intel I3-2100
2x 2GB Corsair Value

anyways, i have 3 Spare HDD, 160GB SATA, 500GB SATA, 1TB SATA from Seagates, when in Bios you can see the same and size and i can choose either that or USB Key for boot

i use the USB Key to run 1st to install Win 8.1 and everything goes well until i have to select a drive where to install Windows.. and nothing shows up

any clue what's up ?
Try downloading the SATA drivers for that motherboard on your other PC, then copy the drivers in a folder on the USB drive that has the Windows installer.


When you're on the window to choose the drive click "load driver"



From there you should be able to browse ot the folder with the drivers and see the HDD. Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2016, 10:55 AM
bignick277's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 169

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jalmir View Post
That would work if he had Windows already installed, re-read his post, OP is trying to install Windows and the HDD don't show during Windows installation.
Oops. You're right. Sorry about that. threw my back out yesterday and on strong pain killers. Got confused.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
reading across drives ToXic Storage 0 November 22, 2010 09:53 PM
Ram Only reading 4gb instead of 6gb 64bit OS hen555 Troubleshooting 3 December 20, 2009 06:05 AM
So, even after reading the FAQ.. D4ng3r HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 December 20, 2008 03:28 PM
Updating BIOS on GA-EP45-DS3L failed, how to access back up BIOS? Kayen Troubleshooting 5 August 7, 2008 06:31 PM
program for reading bios info on intel? sswilson Troubleshooting 3 June 8, 2007 02:51 PM