Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2016, 03:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 4
Default Usb port dont work when windows 7 launching

Hey i recently upgraded to skylake from my fx-8320 and now i have a i5-6600k. But when i power on my pc and windows 7 ask me to enter my password to enter my session all my peripheral stop working. They work all fine in bios.

specs:
msi z170a gaming m5
i5-6600k
16gb hyperx fury ddr4
corsair ax 760i
gigabyte geforce 970 oc windforce

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2016, 03:50 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,930

My System Specs

Default

Did you re-install windows? It never seems to work well going from AMD to Intel and vice versa. I've always ended up having to reinstall.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2016, 05:38 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the reply i will try to install windows 10 later today i will let you konw if it worked.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2016, 06:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 4
Default

I tried to install windows 10 but but it doesnt work. When i start my computer the msi picture shows up and stays here and then the loading circle from windows 10 appear in the middle of the picture. And after a few second i have this (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0F8P...ature=youtu.be) and it stay like that but my usb port works. So i tried to reinstall windows 7 but as soon is i got into the installer my usb port stop working. i read in the article enaberif posted that maybe if i have a ps2 mouse i could use it in the installer so i will try to find one this week. I will try to reinstall windows 10 tonight. Sorry if there is some fault i speak french.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2016, 09:34 PM
sweenytodd's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 362
Default

In your first attempt of Windows 10, did you upgrade your EXISTING Windows 7 in your C: Drive?

Suggest wiping the system drive and do a fresh install of either Win 7 or 10.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2016, 05:19 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,769

My System Specs

Default

I'd install Windows 7 first, activate it, then turn off automatic updates. Restart the PC and then go straight to the Windows 10 update site and let it do it's magic. This is the method I use with all my older PC's and it works excellent, I get Win 10 installed in under 1hr (depends on speed and I am using S775 and older computers) and it's a good "clean" install using the upgrade method.

If you have Windows 10 media and a retail Windows 10 COA then you need to call MS.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2016, 06:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the answers. I ended up reinstalling windows 10 with the ISO that they give on their website in place of the utility they have to create a windows 10 usb stick and it worked perfectly.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tablet keyboard and hwc search dont work Shadowmeph Troubleshooting 10 March 11, 2015 12:34 PM
I dont care what anyone says I love windows 8 Soullessone21 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 20 October 17, 2012 10:29 AM
Mobo ethernet port isn't work... =( do I need to RMA? feerof Troubleshooting 10 May 3, 2010 01:39 PM
how does port forwarding work? Cadence Networking 5 March 12, 2010 09:29 PM
xp sp3 xbox 360 joystick driver dont work! supernode Peripherals 0 July 8, 2008 08:22 PM