Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2016, 09:16 AM
TTC TTC is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 295
Default PC keeps shutting down

So I will be trucking along and all of a sudden it will reset. Its like it loses power. I have a 1000w fairly new PS. But the 2500k is like 4 years old and the mobo probably 1.5years.

You think the overclock has finally wore my hardware down? Where do i start? lowered the oc to 4.3 and still doesnt help.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2016, 09:25 AM
sweenytodd's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 362
Default

How does it shuts down, blue screen or black out?

Can you list down your full PC specs?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2016, 10:07 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,754

My System Specs

Default

Replace the mobo battery. Yes this is probably the problem.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2016, 12:07 PM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 915
Default

Check if any capacitors are swollen.
Google your mobo, there could be a known issue.
I did this on mine last year and it was bad IC's ... black screen. I sent the mobo the Gigabyte and they fixed it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2016, 02:33 PM
TTC TTC is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 295
Default

Yea it just blacks out. Ill list specs when I can.

2500k
asus z77 lk v
gtx980 for starters
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2016, 02:41 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,018
Default

I see bios version for P8Z77-V LK

BIOS 1402 Improve memory compatibility.

also that power supply ?

if bios needs updating, use the Asus suite software to do so

you will see bios version on a cold boot or hit Del or F2 to check
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2016, 04:03 PM
TTC TTC is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 295
Default

The PS is less than a year old 1000w coolermaster. I can't see it failing. Another odd thing, when it does shut down sometimes you have to wait a bit. Unplug it, and cycle it on and off for 2minutes.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2016, 04:53 PM
sweenytodd's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 362
Default

Black Screen has many variables,

examples are:

cpu overheating
videocard failing
psu failing
motherboard failing
ram failing.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2016, 05:13 PM
TTC TTC is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sweenytodd View Post
Black Screen has many variables,

examples are:

cpu overheating
videocard failing
psu failing
motherboard failing
ram failing.
LOL
So what you are saying is buy a 6700k?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2016, 05:13 PM
TTC TTC is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 295
Default

Cant be a heat thing. Everything is liquid cooled. If anything its mobo or ram. Ill just keep using it until it wont turn on. That psu is supposed to be bullet proof.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flexcoin is shutting down Arinoth Press Releases & Tech News 28 March 10, 2014 09:47 PM
Computer shutting down yycraven Troubleshooting 7 December 22, 2011 09:24 AM
pc shutting down cmac79 Troubleshooting 10 November 1, 2011 06:03 AM
Shutting down two computers with one APC UPS Varroa Networking 4 February 16, 2009 05:41 PM
[H] Consumer and [H] Console shutting down Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 3 April 30, 2007 09:52 AM