Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2015, 07:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Default MOBO not powering on

I just recently picked up a i7-4790k and a MSI Z97 gaming 5 motherboard. I am using a Corsair TX750W power supply. For some reason, I am not getting any power to the motherboard. None of the LED lights will turn on or the CPU fan turn at all. I have done some of my own trouble shooting on this, here is what I have done so far with just the motherboard and nothing else in it,

Connected the 24 and 8 pin with just the CPU and nothing comes on.
Reseated the CPU.
Reseated the power connections.
Try taking the motherboard out of the case and putting power to it. Still nothing.
Tested the power supply on old motherboard, and works fine.

I am at a loss to what could be the problem other than maybe the mobo is dead. Help with this would be greatly appreciated

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2015, 07:17 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bedford QC
Posts: 9,973

My System Specs

Default

There seems to be a specific BIOS for the 4790k (MSI Global). I wonder if this is not the issue. 'cause otherwise, you've went though the works - I'd call this a dead board.

Last thing: ram sticks swap? CMOS reset?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2015, 07:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Default

I didn't do a CMOS reset and there is no ram in the board when I was trying to get the power on. I can try that and see what happens and let you know.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2015, 08:04 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,018
Default

check your power connection with pcie possible mixed with cpu power


Last edited by KaptCrunch; December 24, 2015 at 02:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2015, 02:16 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 26
Default

Make sure the jumper for power is installed
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2015, 02:39 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,018
Default

also have a system speaker hooked up to hear any beep's when booting
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2015, 06:30 AM
jalmir's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Montreal
Posts: 202

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedro View Post
Make sure the jumper for power is installed
There isn't any special jumpers for "power" ... not sure what you mean!


KaptCrunch seems the only thing that would make sense at this point, just make sure you're using the right 8 pin connector, or see if a 4 pins connector only would work (check the manual, there seems that only installing 4 pins on one side could work).
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2015, 08:35 AM
Dark Knight
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I didn't see this mentioned but when the CPU was installed and re-seated did you notice any possible bent-pins on the motherboard? If there are any bent-pins it may not POST or power-on. The motherboard could be DOA as well or it may not support the 4790K out of the box as it is on an old bios?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2015, 08:44 AM
jalmir's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Montreal
Posts: 202

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Knight View Post
I didn't see this mentioned but when the CPU was installed and re-seated did you notice any possible bent-pins on the motherboard? If there are any bent-pins it may not POST or power-on. The motherboard could be DOA as well or it may not support the 4790K out of the box as it is on an old bios?
I might be wrong but shouldn't the power LED from the mobo light up even if there aren't any CPU? Because of that I'm really thinking it's DOA.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2015, 09:17 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,641
Default

It could really be the BIOS. MSI released a specific update for Devil's Canyon...
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error while powering on??? martin_metal_88 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 February 3, 2010 09:32 AM
GTX280 not powering up GregH Troubleshooting 17 February 4, 2009 02:39 PM
PC not powering up yamawho Troubleshooting 5 January 14, 2009 03:20 PM
powering my GTX280 biff Video Cards 4 January 14, 2009 07:42 AM
PC not powering up neyjunior Troubleshooting 6 June 7, 2007 01:17 PM