Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2015, 05:17 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 103
Default Asus P8Z77-V LE boot problem/power.

This issue is weird and would love to hear from anyone else who has had a similar problem and possibly solution.

If my system is switched off from the power supply for any length of time, my system will not boot back up unless I disconnect the ATX 24 pin plug and plug it back in with the power switch on. Obviously I don't like to do this as I'm playing with fire as far as I'm concerned. The funny thing is, as long as the power switch is never turned off or the power cord disconnected, the system will reboot and restart as necessary.

Specs...

Asus P8Z77-V LE
I7 3770 (stock frequency)
G.Skill 1600mhz CL7 DDR3 2x8GB
Sapphire TriX Radeon R9 290.
1TB WD HD.
128GB SSD
Windows 10
DVD drive.
Corsair 750TX psu.

Nothing is overclocked.

I changed over to a EVGA 1000w Gold certified psu and the problem still persists.

Suggestions please. :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2015, 05:26 PM
sweenytodd's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 362
Default

Try booting one stick of RAM at a time? Run like bare bone, boot with only one ram, boot drive only and no gpu. From there, isolate the problem if anything comes up.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2015, 05:38 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,657

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like a possible motherboard short. Tested it outside of a case?
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2015, 06:09 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoob View Post
Sounds like a possible motherboard short. Tested it outside of a case?
Going to try it outside of case.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2015, 07:28 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,948

My System Specs

Default

Just to be sure.... the 24 pin is straight from the PSU into the motherboard? It's not in a case like the Cosmos S that had a an adapter/extender for the capacitive power switch?

If not, it maybe the "power good" (or whatever the official name for the contacts we short to run a PSU without connecting to a motherboard is) connectors aren't making proper contact when they're fully seated, but manage to make a good enough contact during the insertion process? That's wayyyyy out there, but you never know when it's one of these weird symptom snags.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
Lian-Li PC-011 Air (RGB) / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Screen
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2015, 08:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Just to be sure.... the 24 pin is straight from the PSU into the motherboard? It's not in a case like the Cosmos S that had a an adapter/extender for the capacitive power switch?

If not, it maybe the "power good" (or whatever the official name for the contacts we short to run a PSU without connecting to a motherboard is) connectors aren't making proper contact when they're fully seated, but manage to make a good enough contact during the insertion process? That's wayyyyy out there, but you never know when it's one of these weird symptom snags.
Yes, 24 pin straight to motherboard. Case is a Corsair 300R.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2015, 02:12 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Default

Hi freeloader. I cam across this post as I have run into the very same problem with a P8Z77-V board. Have you found a solution or did you replace the motherboard?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2015, 02:31 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,018
Default

hammer what bios version you at ? 1104 for freeloader model

check MB caps are not bulged
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2015, 03:03 PM
TTC TTC is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 295
Default

I have this mobo. My stupid pc does this as well. Eventually If I unplug the power and leave it it will come on.l
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2015, 04:36 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,018
Default

can check the cmos chip is seated good Note: is marked or notched on one end of chip to index with the socket # 1 pin

caution to static charge when handling chip pins
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between Asus P8Z77-V and P8Z77-V LX and P8Z77-I DELUXE? kasabian CPU's and Motherboards 4 May 19, 2013 02:55 PM
[WTT] for ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 6, 2013 10:09 PM
Help with ASUS P8Z77-V Lk TheDude Troubleshooting 5 September 22, 2012 02:56 PM
Power design of P8Z77-V andyhan95 CPU's and Motherboards 1 April 4, 2012 02:45 AM
Asus rampage formula corsair dominator boot problem a guy from somewhere Troubleshooting 5 January 19, 2011 03:15 PM