Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2015, 02:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boisbriand, Québec, Canada
Posts: 21
Default PC shutting down after installing new video card

Hello there,

I recently purchased a GTX 980 Ti to replace my GTX 970. I've also been using an overclocked i7-4930K @ 4.5 GHz for more than a year now along with a X79-DELUXE motherboard, and prior to replacing the video card I have had absolutely zero problem with my PC.

Now here's the thing: every time I put my PC on full load (say benchmarking on Fire Strike or a very graphically demanding game), it will shut down without any warning or BSOD whatsoever, just like if someone pulled the AC power cord from the wall socket. Upon restarting, this message will appear: "Power supply surges detected during the previous power on ASUS Anti-Surge was triggered to protect system from unstable power supply unit."

My motherboard's BIOS is up-to-date and I have tried disabling ASUS Anti-Surge in the BIOS, but the PC will still shutdown just like before, except the ASUS Anti-Surge message simply won't appear. I have also used Display Driver Uninstaller and reinstalled NVIDIA's drivers but it made no difference at all.

I am currently using a Cooler Master V1000 80+ gold power supply (made by Seasonic) which should be more than enough given that I only have 1 video card in my system.

HOWEVER, I have noticed that if I do not overclock the CPU, or if I don't overclock the GPU, then it will take a longer time for the PC to shutdown, but it will inevitably happen (it will shutdown after 10 minutes instead of 30 seconds to 1 minute). Both the CPU and GPU stay under 65*C degrees on full load (100% fan speed).

So my questions are: how likely is it that it is a power supply problem? Could the problem originate from the new video card or the motherboard?

Thank you in advance for your answers!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2015, 03:12 PM
ThE_MarD's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada eh?
Posts: 113

My System Specs

Default

Heyyo,

Hmm odd! Have you also tried it with reverting back to the GTX 970?

Have you also tried setting the bios completely back to default/fail-safe settings?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2015, 03:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boisbriand, Québec, Canada
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThE_MarD View Post
Heyyo,

Hmm odd! Have you also tried it with reverting back to the GTX 970?

Have you also tried setting the bios completely back to default/fail-safe settings?
I have tried resetting the BIOS completely back to default settings (thus removing my overclock), and while it does help a bit - delaying the inevitable shutdown - it does not fix the problem entirely.

However, I haven't tried reverting back to the GTX 970, but I've been playing graphically demanding games with the GTX 970 the day before I swapped for a GTX 980 Ti and I had no issues before...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2015, 03:58 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,930

My System Specs

Default

It does sound like a power supply issue. Even the best can have defects that don't show up until you're under significant load. Do you have a friend you can borrow a PSU from to help troubleshoot the issue?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2015, 05:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boisbriand, Québec, Canada
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
It does sound like a power supply issue. Even the best can have defects that don't show up until you're under significant load. Do you have a friend you can borrow a PSU from to help troubleshoot the issue?
I believe I have a friend who would be willing to lend me his Corsair AX650 power supply; however, I'm not sure if that'll be enough for my setup. I'll try this out tomorrow and I'll report the results here! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2015, 05:12 PM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,284

My System Specs

Default

You don't really need a 1000W PSU to run that, even a 650W will do fine, so you have a wide range of PSUs that you could test with. It has 23% of 1egg reviews on Newegg, a bit too many for a 80Plus Gold PSU. Try with another PSU.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2015, 05:16 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,069

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
It does sound like a power supply issue. Even the best can have defects that don't show up until you're under significant load. Do you have a friend you can borrow a PSU from to help troubleshoot the issue?
I agree I am sure this is what the problem is
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2015, 07:11 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,754

My System Specs

Default

here is something I want you to try before you get to crazy. (maybe you already have) This is something I have witnessed over the years overclocking and more specifically with the hx1000 which is in fact dual 500w PSU's in one house.

Create a desktop icon of Power Options from your control panel. Set the power option to high performance and then re-do your overclocking. What this will probably expose is the PSU not handling the voltage swings properly which will definitely expose the PSU as the culprit if the system is suddenly stable again. When I overclock for games I always set the power option to high performance because I do NOT want the CPU or GPU to swing back and forth as demand requires. I personally just want a stable system...

If you are overclocked and everything seems to have stabilized try setting the power option to balanced this will let the CPU throttle up and down as needed. If it crashes then you know your PSU isn't handling the power requests correctly. High performance doesn't allow the OS to control the CPU frequency.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2015, 12:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boisbriand, Québec, Canada
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
here is something I want you to try before you get to crazy. (maybe you already have) This is something I have witnessed over the years overclocking and more specifically with the hx1000 which is in fact dual 500w PSU's in one house.

Create a desktop icon of Power Options from your control panel. Set the power option to high performance and then re-do your overclocking. What this will probably expose is the PSU not handling the voltage swings properly which will definitely expose the PSU as the culprit if the system is suddenly stable again. When I overclock for games I always set the power option to high performance because I do NOT want the CPU or GPU to swing back and forth as demand requires. I personally just want a stable system...

If you are overclocked and everything seems to have stabilized try setting the power option to balanced this will let the CPU throttle up and down as needed. If it crashes then you know your PSU isn't handling the power requests correctly. High performance doesn't allow the OS to control the CPU frequency.
Tried this this morning but unfortunately the PC still crashed.

It seems like it was indeed a power supply problem; tried with an AX650 power supply this morning and it has been stable for over 1 hour so far (which is a good sign).

Thanks everyone!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2015, 01:47 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,979

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kessler View Post
Tried this this morning but unfortunately the PC still crashed.

It seems like it was indeed a power supply problem; tried with an AX650 power supply this morning and it has been stable for over 1 hour so far (which is a good sign).

Thanks everyone!
Glad you figured it out, but it sucks your psu is failing...it is a good one. It would be worth trying to RMA if you can. Good luck!
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black Screen with transparent horizontal waves after installing a new video card appplejack Troubleshooting 6 August 18, 2012 03:32 PM
installing/running games on a micro sdhc card johnnyblazzwa Storage 11 July 14, 2011 09:30 AM
WTB: Video Card/Sound Card/Hard drive - Look here if u gotz some ! Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 4, 2008 10:27 PM
no signal after installing new vid card oksir Troubleshooting 13 July 15, 2008 09:27 PM