Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2015, 08:20 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,657

My System Specs

Default 290X Artifacting

Hey guys,

Experiencing an issue with my 290X. I am getting strange artifacting in Unigine Valley where it shows up like little ansi art symbols over the screen: ░ ▒

Are there any good tests I can run to check for GPU RAM stability?

Here's what happened:

My original card had a failed fan.

Sent it for RMA earlier this year and got one that artifacted.
This card got little use so I wanted to run some stress tests before getting rid of it.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nPy8EJeVpOQ
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UG5qMWU9NsE

Sent that one in for RMA and got this one that is even worse:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rRblUoyKeu4

Am I unlucky or am I getting bad 'refurbished' cards back? All three cards use Elpida RAM.

The first RMA card I tested on two different systems, X99 and Z87, stock settings, Windows 10 64Bit, Catalyst 15.7 and 15.8 beta.

The second RMA card tested in only one system Windows 10 64bit Catalyst 15.8 beta.

I'm tempted to grab a spare HDD and test a clean Win7 install but it all seems like a waste of time.

Thanks for reading all the way to the bottom.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2015, 08:45 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,641
Default

That's odd. Typically when I have seen memory artifacting it was always multi-colored. That almost looks like an input connector issue.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2015, 09:01 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,657

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
That's odd. Typically when I have seen memory artifacting it was always multi-colored. That almost looks like an input connector issue.
I tested on two different monitors and it does the same. One with DL-DVI and one with DP.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2015, 09:23 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,641
Default

Then certainly memory.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2015, 11:11 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Brockville, ON
Posts: 552

My System Specs

Default

that bottom one is def problems.
the top 2 I honestly did not notice anything, I would have to watch many times to see it, hard to tell from quick clips.

Did you run proper driver cleaning etc?
Also the 15.10 or whatever that AMD has out now is apparently quite good.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2015, 07:52 PM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 775

My System Specs

Default

The part 2 file looks like a bad gpu, but the last one looks like RAM to me
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2015, 07:48 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,657

My System Specs

Default

Confirmed bad card. I installed it in a new computer with a clean Win7 install, same issues.
Freakin ASUS man.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2015, 08:18 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: langley (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,302
Default

it must be so pain in the ass...

for third time... it made me wonder if asus rma dept is um bad... eh?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, XFX 750W, i7 4770k, supreme hf, GA-Z87X-OC Force, 16gb gskill ripjaws 2133mhz , xfx hd6950 CF. 128gb intel 520, wd blue and toshiba 1tb, mcp355 + EK-XRES , 2x ar697, 2x PXM360, 12x AC F12 fans, 12 x shroud, STT 123W fan filter. 2442.88CDN
OLD: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2015, 10:27 AM
low351's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 206

My System Specs

Default

Great, I just bought an Asus card... :) it's NVIDIA based though, hopefully I won't encounter same kind of issues.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2015, 08:37 AM
low351's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 206

My System Specs

Default

Well I ran Valley in Ultra 1920x1200 on it and it was perfect so this card is okay. Strix 970GTX
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] WTT 290X Tri-X - Ref 290X (WC'ing Stuff - Slim 240 Rad, MCP35X Pump, CPU Block) JoeOnePack Buy/Sell & Trade 6 June 11, 2014 03:52 AM
[FS] R9 290X, GIGABYTE GV-R929XOC-4GD Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit gerardfraser Buy/Sell & Trade 2 May 3, 2014 06:14 PM
6850 Artifacting great_big_abyss Video Cards 21 March 15, 2013 02:49 PM
Artifacting in WMP11 when Playing DVD Generic User #2 HTPC Systems & Software 4 December 27, 2012 03:00 PM
Video Card Artifacting, but not the VC??? Starkness Troubleshooting 18 August 28, 2008 12:00 PM