Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2015, 03:13 AM
CF User's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Default 144Hz Fluctuating GPU clock speeds

Hey there, I'm having this strange problem with my new configuration, which includes a 144Hz monitor.
The clock speed of both GPU's are fluctuating in pretty much every 3D application. It can range anywhere from 750MHz - 1000MHz but only in 120Hz or 144Hz mode.
In 60Hz mode the clocks are rock solid @ 1000MHz... I'm not sure if 3D and 2D clocks are conflicting or whatever but any help would be much appreciated

P.s temps are fine



Cheers

Setup:
I7 3770K @ Stock clocks / undervolted stable
Asus P8Z77 V LX MOBO
Corsair vengeance 16GB 1600MHz RAM
H80i closed loop water cooling for the CPU
2 x Sapphire R9 290's Tri-X
1TB Samsung HDD
250GB Samsung EVO SSD
RM1000 PSU
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2015, 05:04 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,641
Default

Do you have V-SYNC turned on? Alternately, the new AMD drivers introduced Framerate Target Control which has been known to enable itself randomly after a reboot. Check whether or not that turned itself on.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2015, 05:27 AM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,058

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
...the new AMD drivers introduced Framerate Target Control which has been known to enable itself randomly after a reboot. Check whether or not that turned itself on.
That seems like a helpful feature! Egads...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2015, 05:41 AM
CF User's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Default Vsync + Frame target

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Do you have V-SYNC turned on? Alternately, the new AMD drivers introduced Framerate Target Control which has been known to enable itself randomly after a reboot. Check whether or not that turned itself on.
V-Sync is off, both on 60Hz and 144Hz. Checked and frame rate target is off.

Also I just ran 3DMark and found that GPU-Z introduces infrequent stuttering (not a large amount but noticeable every 5-6 seconds.) Is it possible that my monitoring software is to blame? Used MSI before that though and it showed similar results. Ahh I just don't know

P.s GPU-Z is reporting that my second R9 290 is running 'PCI-E 3.0x16 @ x4' Shouldn't both cards be running @ 8x?

Last edited by CF User; July 31, 2015 at 05:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2015, 06:23 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,641
Default

Ah. I just noticed. Your motherboard is only rated to a max electrical speed of x4 for the second PCI-E slot. Your cards are being bottlenecked by your mobo. Since one can't process data through the PCI-E bus fast enough (it is only working at x4 speeds) Crossfire fluctuates the clock speeds to compensate.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2015, 06:40 AM
CF User's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Ah. I just noticed. Your motherboard is only rated to a max electrical speed of x4 for the second PCI-E slot. Your cards are being bottlenecked by your mobo. Since one can't process data through the PCI-E bus fast enough (it is only working at x4 speeds) Crossfire fluctuates the clock speeds to compensate.
Of course! Bit of a bummer, but in a way I'm glad the problem has been routed. Tried pretty much everything I could think of in the process.

Thanks very much for your help!

(Might have to run like this for a while until my budget allows otherwise)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2015, 06:49 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,641
Default

Where do you live? I MAY have an extra Z77 motherboard I no longer need for testing. If you live in Canada, I'd be more than happy to test it out to validate its working condition and send to you provided you pay for shipping. :)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2015, 06:56 AM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,058

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
... If you live in Canada, I'd be more than happy to test it out to validate its working condition and send to you provided you pay for shipping. :)
See that? This is just another example of why this community is absolutely brilliant!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2015, 06:58 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 13,641
Default

I'll be putting up a Garage Sale thread in a few days with stuff I just have lying around. Figured I may as well start cleaning house now. ;)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2015, 07:04 AM
CF User's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Where do you live? I MAY have an extra Z77 motherboard I no longer need for testing. If you live in Canada, I'd be more than happy to test it out to validate its working condition and send to you provided you pay for shipping. :)
Wow, really? Nice one. Cheers for the offer, but I live in the UK. Not sure how much it would be to send but I could cover the costs if it wouldn't be too much trouble? (Also not sure if it would be diminishing returns/ postage is through the roof.) Never the less, a generous offer

If interested message me
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
144hz , clock , fluctuating , gpu , speeds

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BFG 285 GTX clock speeds grinder Troubleshooting 11 November 22, 2009 08:25 PM
E8400 clock speeds JupiterTrooper CPU's and Motherboards 1 September 5, 2008 10:45 PM
9800 GX2 clock speeds and oc Babrbarossa Rumor Mill 15 March 5, 2008 11:53 AM
SLI with different card clock speeds Mibs Video Cards 1 October 31, 2007 11:05 AM
Different clock speeds on E6420? sswilson CPU's and Motherboards 18 April 14, 2007 08:16 PM