Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2015, 09:50 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,069

My System Specs

Default is this a Motherboard problem?

I was given an older hp pc which won't post if I hold down the power button the lights and fans power up but as soon as I release the power button it shuts down , I have also bypassed the power button to make sure that wasn't the problem.

he was getting system fan errors before this happen and the rear case fan kind of pulses
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2015, 09:54 AM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 1,081

My System Specs

Default

From my exp thats generally the mobo is shot. With a faulty psu being a close second.

Check psu -> the move on to mobo.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2015, 09:56 AM
Johan45's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: South of Woodstock Ontario.
Posts: 201
Default

Unless the CPU went from an over heat it's likely the board. Do you see any bulging caps in there?
__________________
Not sure if that's my wife's cooking or if I'm overclocking too much.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2015, 09:59 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,069

My System Specs

Default

will check for caps
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2015, 10:22 AM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,284

My System Specs

Default

Usually that behaviour indicates the mobo is gone. Would you like a DFI mobo with 8 GB of RAM and a quad core CPU? :)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 17, 2015, 05:53 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,069

My System Specs

Default

lol nah I was just tinkering lol
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2015, 04:41 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,434

My System Specs

Default

Pull it out of case

one sick ram and on HDD
on a peace of cardboard. eliminate ground fault.

If no go the ... parts.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2015, 05:55 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,069

My System Specs

Default

that is the next thing I am thinking but I am really thinking it is the Motherboard because I remember him telling me that his PSU went with a pop which then he brought his PC over for me to look at last year . so I guess I will snoop around for a old AM2 or AM# motherboard lol
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2015, 01:55 PM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,284

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
so I guess I will snoop around for a old AM2 or AM# motherboard lol
or a socket 775 setup that uses DDR2,
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2015, 02:48 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,257
Default

I got a AM3+ board that I want to unload. Let me know if you're interested.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
H87-G43-GAMING motherboard pci express problem paourissi CPU's and Motherboards 4 December 20, 2013 01:05 PM
Motherboard Problem Conky Troubleshooting 2 October 16, 2010 03:39 AM
Strange motherboard problem krajee Troubleshooting 2 July 30, 2010 02:48 PM
Fan connecting to motherboard problem chang2 New Builds 4 September 13, 2009 04:46 PM
I think my motherboard is screwed how can I tell if that what is my problem? Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 5 July 20, 2009 07:15 AM