Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2015, 08:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default Need help flashing Z87 board for Haswell refresh CPUs

Finally decided to move from my Core2Quad system and I've already made a big mistake. I bought an ECS Z87H3-M and a Core i5 4460 off the forum thinking they were both 1150 so it'd be fine but it turns out Z87 boards need a BIOS update to support the Haswell refresh CPUs. That is an update I can't do because I only have the 4460.

Would anyone be so kind as to lend/rent me a 1st gen Haswell processor to do this update with? I will send the CPU right back after I do the update (heat: trowakage, ebay: ryosuke_takahasi)

Thanks so much.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2015, 09:20 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,434

My System Specs

Default

What Board and What Location ( City, Country )

( I do not have one ) myself.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2015, 04:57 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

I'm in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2015, 09:46 AM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,284

My System Specs

Default

Take it to a local computer shop!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2015, 12:43 PM
Master_Shake_'s Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 191

My System Specs

Default

is it an asus board?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2015, 01:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I'm calling local shops to see if they have a compatible CPU lying around, so far no luck (I'm in the Hamilton, ON area). It's an ECS board, not an Asus that can flash without a CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2015, 01:40 PM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,284

My System Specs

Default

there is a canadacomputers in Hamilton
Hamilton
50 Dundurn Street South, Unit #10 Hamilton, Ontario L8P 4W3, Canada

Canada Computers & Electronics | Store & Warehouse Locations

I had a bios flashed once at CC, they billed it as software install, 20$

Canada Computers & Electronics | Service Centre
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2015, 10:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

Canada Computers did the trick. Thanks for the advice everyone.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buy cpu at Haswell refresh release date? fubar CPU's and Motherboards 20 May 30, 2014 10:40 PM
Haswell "refresh"... Bond007 Rumor Mill 15 February 22, 2014 07:37 AM
[WTB] Supermicro/Tyan quad g34 board, Opteron CPUs, DDR3 1333 CL7 ram kazenagi Buy/Sell & Trade 3 March 3, 2012 04:14 PM
Need some help flashing my BIOS andynerd Troubleshooting 5 June 18, 2009 04:08 PM
Flashing GTX 275 with FTW bios artistpavel Video Cards 14 June 1, 2009 06:37 PM