Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2015, 08:36 AM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 722

My System Specs

Default System Locks up when browsing

I have tried both chrome and Opra but same issues, when I am browsing, out of no where it locks up and then my other programs also lock up for a min or so.

I am using FX 8350, Asrock 970 Extreme 3 Rev 2, 4 x2 gig adata ram 1866. GTX 570 and Silverstone 750w psu.

I have tried two different cpus, and two different sets of ram. I have tried fx 6300 and also 2x8gig ddr3 1866 gskill ram.

I think the mobo is gone, any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2015, 08:43 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,948

My System Specs

Default

Most recent bios? Newest network drivers (delete the nic in device manager and check the box to remove all drivers so that it refreshes the stack)? Older version of network drivers on the off chance that the latest is buggy?
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
Lian-Li PC-011 Air (RGB) / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Screen
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2015, 08:52 AM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 722

My System Specs

Default

yea updated the bios, and did a fresh install of windows on this set up. I have another set up x99 and I dont get the same issue there. But let me refresh the nic tho
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2015, 08:52 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,018
Default

check HDD with windows Disk Management to see if all is accounted (formatted) if some space not allotted will cause that
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2015, 08:54 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,948

My System Specs

Default

If you've done a fresh install and the issue comes back, I'd say either physical hardware issue or buggy driver and/or windows update driver.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
Lian-Li PC-011 Air (RGB) / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Screen
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2015, 08:57 AM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 722

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
If you've done a fresh install and the issue comes back, I'd say either physical hardware issue or buggy driver and/or windows update driver.
Yea I think this mobo is a piece of shit. Was going to use this for my donation project. But cant give this away, as its a ppeice of work. Thanks, just thought I'd ask.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2015, 09:03 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,948

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Your_friendly_gamer View Post
Yea I think this mobo is a piece of shit. Was going to use this for my donation project. But cant give this away, as its a ppeice of work. Thanks, just thought I'd ask.
I'm sure you could find a PCI nic card for $10 or so. That'd be a hell of a lot cheaper than finding a replacement motherboard.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
Lian-Li PC-011 Air (RGB) / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Screen
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2015, 09:06 AM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 722

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I'm sure you could find a PCI nic card for $10 or so. That'd be a hell of a lot cheaper than finding a replacement motherboard.
or wifi it? because I have wifi usb key, let me try that. Thanks SS!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2015, 09:08 AM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 722

My System Specs

Default

now connected via wifi, I will report back in soon.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 7, 2015, 09:38 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,979

My System Specs

Default

Doesn't happen other than in browsers?
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System locks up at desktop. Please help for the family PC! UPDATED with pictures ExpendableG4M3R Troubleshooting 17 July 1, 2014 02:59 PM
I give up...need help please. System locks up during gameplay HiTi Troubleshooting 16 July 4, 2013 04:31 AM
New System locks up randomly Verbal Troubleshooting 5 July 27, 2012 02:41 PM
System Locks Up Under Load. BLARRRG! FlightlessLobster Troubleshooting 17 November 16, 2011 06:52 PM
Browsing Issue with Firefox BALISTX O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 March 4, 2007 05:48 PM