Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2015, 03:15 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 49
Default CPU temp problems.

So let me start off by saying that im not the the smartest person.

The other day my computer got a blue screen, i was surprised but i didnt look into the cause of it. Fast forward to today and i checked my temps because i do that sometimes. So my CPU was at 80 degrees and i got really nervous.

Im trying to find out the reason why it got so high, i havent fiddled with anything in the computer since i put it together, when i started the computer for the first time after i installed the watercooler the idle temp was at like 30. Now its at 40, ive been running the Prime 95 benchmark for a while now and its gotten to 70 degrees celsius, and thats after ive removed the overclock.

Mobo: Asus P67 Pro Rev 3
CPU: INtel 2600k
CPU-cooler: Corsair Hydro 75

Any idea what may have caused this?

Some things i find weird:
1. I just stopped the Prime95 test thingy and it went from 70 degrees celsius to 40 in like 1 second. Is that possible?
2. Every other time i turn on the computer it does this weird thing: Boots up for 3 seconds, shuts down and then boots up for real. Dont know whats up with that.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2015, 10:40 AM
Coach's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 1,144

My System Specs

Default

A few things to check:

-Is the fan on the rad spinning at the correct speed(s)?
-Is the rad clogged? Have you cleaned it?
-Is the pump spinning at the correct speed?
I would start there. To answer your questions:
Q.
Quote:
1. I just stopped the Prime95 test thingy and it went from 70 degrees celsius to 40 in like 1 second. Is that possible?
A. Yes

Q
Quote:
2. Every other time i turn on the computer it does this weird thing: Boots up for 3 seconds, shuts down and then boots up for real. Dont know whats up with that.
A. Has it always done this? Is it only from a cold boot or does it also do this on a restart? Have you tried resetting the bios to default settings?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2015, 07:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 49
Default

Thanks for the reply. So the steps ive taken are:

Resetting the bios, that solved the restart when starting issue.

Vacuumed all the stuff i could in the computer so i vacuumed the big black block that the fans are attached to for the cpu-cooler.

Replugged many chords.

Applied new thermal paste.


And none of that doesnt seem to have changed anything about the temp.

So im not sure how to check if the cpu fan is spinning in normal speeds and if the pump is spinning at the correct stpeeds.

Last edited by A_Dude; February 12, 2015 at 08:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2015, 10:25 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,754

My System Specs

Default

Corsair hydro should have software that can adjust the fan speed. If the pump wasn't working the top of your CPU block would be extremely hot to the touch. Servicing those type of aio water coolers is tricky me thinks but it might be clogged or low on water? Maybe somebody who's taken one apart has some suggestions.

Maybe put an air cooler on the CPU as a test to see if the temps go down. If they do your water cooler might be dead.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2015, 10:39 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,122
Default

Did you cooler coke with multiple mounting kits? If so, check to make sure you used the right ones... Maybe your bolts are tightened all the way, but they're the wrong length so your cooler isn't making very good contact with the CPU.

A 1-second jump from 40c to 70c its pretty darn bad.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2015, 11:26 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 49
Default

It worked perfect when i installed it for the first time. I didnt touch it since then until today.

I touched the block thingy that waters runs through and it isnt that hot. I tried unplugging the chord that runs from the pump i assume, and it didnt start at all without it so i guess it works.

Didnt find any software to control the Hydro fan.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2015, 11:28 AM
Coach's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 1,144

My System Specs

Default

IMO you must confirm that the pump RPM and the fan RPM are operating at correct speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2015, 12:15 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,754

My System Specs

Default

Downloads

Download corsair link and install it.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2015, 01:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phill View Post
IMO you must confirm that the pump RPM and the fan RPM are operating at correct speeds.
How do i check the pump RPM?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2015, 01:23 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,093

My System Specs

Default

Easiest way is installing the Corsair Link software that clshades referenced. The link for it is in his post.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Real Temp or Core Temp or Ai Suite Jhayman CPU's and Motherboards 11 November 19, 2009 12:11 PM
CPU temp vs Core temp phil3_66666 Air Cooling 4 July 31, 2009 09:39 PM
Real Temp or Core Temp ?? FrankyG Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 September 29, 2008 11:24 PM
temp issues and sli problems voklskier4452 Troubleshooting 15 June 7, 2008 09:23 PM
CPU temp or Core temp? E6420 NOOB Delavan CPU's and Motherboards 18 May 28, 2007 05:07 AM