Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2015, 09:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Alberta
Posts: 14

My System Specs

Default Motherboard wont recognize SATA ports

Intel Core i5-4670K, MSI GeForce GTX 770, Fractal Design Define R4 w/Window (Black Pearl) - System Build - PCPartPicker Canada
Here are my computer specs except I finally had time to disassemble and test. Replaced the PSU with a spare I had at home 600W which is more than enough.
My motherboard now does not recognize any sata ports and boots straight to EFI screen where I type exit and go to the BIOS. Tried to reset my settings. same issue.
I next tried to switch SATA ports, also no go.
I then tried to unplug SATA and let the computer run then shutoff replug in and still same issue.
I also tried unplugging the PSU holding the power button to drain all the power of the mobo and see if it would go to some default settings.
Another thing is when my computer turns on, my heatsink fans go straight to 100% because my CPU is apparently always at 100 degrees.

Anyone know what I should do next?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2015, 10:15 PM
Master_Shake_'s Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 191

My System Specs

Default

sounds like a bad board.

in the uefi are the sata ports enabled?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2015, 10:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Alberta
Posts: 14

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Master_Shake_ View Post
sounds like a bad board.

in the uefi are the sata ports enabled?
Yep both enabled. Tried different sata cables also. Yeah everyone been pointing to that road too. Good thing I bought a mobo today.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2015, 10:23 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,069

My System Specs

Default

Pull the board and try to run it out of the case . are you using the same things like cable and hard drive when checking the sata ports? 100Degrees is very hot unless you are talking about 100 F and not 100 C.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2015, 10:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Alberta
Posts: 14

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
Pull the board and try to run it out of the case . are you using the same things like cable and hard drive when checking the sata ports? 100Degrees is very hot unless you are talking about 100 F and not 100 C.
The thing is my CPU i know for a fact isnt at 100 degrees. if i left it off all day. Then suddenly turning it on and it states its already at 100degrees I use a H100i to cool it even letting it run at 20 minutes I feel no heat from my heatsink. Using different cables and drives.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2015, 12:12 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,754

My System Specs

Default

Are you able to update the bios? Does it have dual bios?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2015, 04:12 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,018
Default

use MSI Live Update utility to update bios and get current drivers
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2015, 01:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Alberta
Posts: 14

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
Are you able to update the bios? Does it have dual bios?
I'll have to give it a shot, I gotta find a USB and make it bootable with the bios update. However, I tried installing a new mobo the problem still persist, tried different SSD, cables, problem still persist, also tried different ram. So anyone with any other things to test(I'll try to find an usb stick to make a bootable drive).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2015, 11:22 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,754

My System Specs

Default

That's weird man... So you've isolated the mobo as not the problem. I'm assuming you've connected all the appropriate power connectors to the mobos. Are you able to test another CPU? Try with a single stick of ram and test each slot just to close that door too.

Also are you trying the board out of the case just to make sure it isn't a grounding problem. (I've seen it before and I've done it myself.)

Any old cheap (small capacity) USB will do normally.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.

Last edited by clshades; February 5, 2015 at 03:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2015, 12:14 PM
ern88's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 757

My System Specs

Default

Maybe a MoBo problem If you know anyone or have another PC. try the Sata cable and drive on that.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No more SATA ports Evylldemon Storage 6 April 7, 2014 08:38 AM
Mobo doesn't recognize all sata drives aviduser Troubleshooting 3 February 17, 2014 09:37 PM
question on SATA ports on P8P67 B3 cmge CPU's and Motherboards 6 August 10, 2011 06:27 PM
Setting up Raid.. Does it matter what sata ports I use? Yamcha Troubleshooting 9 February 1, 2010 08:17 AM
New build--wont recognize my HDD's Surk Troubleshooting 5 December 13, 2009 08:44 PM