Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2015, 10:44 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,839

My System Specs

Default RIVE Won't Boot

So... I went to turn on my PC this morning, and apparently it no longer boots...

It flips on for about 1s and then off, then on, off, on, off, continuously. Seems like it's not even getting close to POST'ing or even loading the BIOS, since the LED readout shows nothing either.

Any thoughts? Motherboard fried? CPU fried? I really don't know where to go from here...

I tried the BIOS Flashback as well, that didn't do anything.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2015, 10:49 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,948

My System Specs

Default

Have you stripped it down to bare necessities yet?

Aside from that, my first inclination for something that just stops posting overnight would be PSU.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
Lian-Li PC-011 Air (RGB) / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Screen
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2015, 11:33 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,434

My System Specs

Default

Toss in a New MB Battery fore it ?
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2015, 11:41 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,839

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, no idea what happened. Obviously some gremlins somewhere!

Anyways, it's back up and running, I had to do the following:
1. Downloaded 1404 BIOS (ROM format instead of CAP)
2. Rename to ERALL.ROM and place on USB (this was key, using the R4E naming convention didn't work)
3. Use BIOS Flashback
4. Reset CMOS
5. It boots!

Now I'm in the process of doing the ROM-to-CAP conversion and will flash back the 4901 CAP.

Thank god for that BIOS Flashback feature. I think I would have been buying a new mobo otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2015, 11:48 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,434

My System Specs

Default

Look fore shorts on the board.
Heatkiller = water loop / look fore leaks
Loose connections

Or just could the fun UFFE BIOS
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rive BE 4960x Max Oc? Shadowarez Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 November 10, 2014 07:32 PM
Rive-BE Usb issue? Shadowarez CPU's and Motherboards 2 June 26, 2014 10:38 PM
Initial OC - RIVE 3930K rjbarker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 32 June 1, 2013 11:06 AM
Reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device BrianHanna Troubleshooting 44 February 11, 2010 02:13 PM