Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2014, 11:34 AM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 760

My System Specs

Default Out with 4670k and new 4790k problem

Remove my 4670k and installed the 4790k like its supposed

Press power button computer starts and shuts down 2 sec after and will repeat itself like this until i shut the psu


Anyone have a clue why its doing this ?
__________________
Intel i7 3930K / 16GB Corsair Vengence DDR3-2400
Asus X79 Rampage Extreme Black Edition / EVGA GTX 770

Corsair 480GB SSD / 1TB WD Black

IN WIN 303 / EVGA NEX750 Gold
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2014, 11:46 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,657

My System Specs

Default

Try re-seating CPU and clear CMOS settings. Did you have a OC configured on the old chip?
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2014, 11:54 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,979

My System Specs

Default

bios updated to support the CPU?

Otherwise, maybe need to reseat the CPU.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2014, 11:55 AM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 760

My System Specs

Default

Yeah and i did clear the cmos with battery out for 10min and reseated the cpu 3 times and checked all the pins
__________________
Intel i7 3930K / 16GB Corsair Vengence DDR3-2400
Asus X79 Rampage Extreme Black Edition / EVGA GTX 770

Corsair 480GB SSD / 1TB WD Black

IN WIN 303 / EVGA NEX750 Gold
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2014, 12:01 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 760

My System Specs

Default

Just check gigabyte site and has a update for the new 4790k....

How can i update bios with a pc that doesnt boot ??

I dont have any spare 1150 cpus
__________________
Intel i7 3930K / 16GB Corsair Vengence DDR3-2400
Asus X79 Rampage Extreme Black Edition / EVGA GTX 770

Corsair 480GB SSD / 1TB WD Black

IN WIN 303 / EVGA NEX750 Gold
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2014, 12:08 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,434

My System Specs

Default

I have a i3 4150 I can lend you fore a bit.

PM: address, phone #
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2014, 07:28 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 760

My System Specs

Default

Fixed
__________________
Intel i7 3930K / 16GB Corsair Vengence DDR3-2400
Asus X79 Rampage Extreme Black Edition / EVGA GTX 770

Corsair 480GB SSD / 1TB WD Black

IN WIN 303 / EVGA NEX750 Gold
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2014, 07:55 PM
Pelt's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stewiacke, Nova Scotia
Posts: 357

My System Specs

Default

What did you do to fix it? Was it just the Motherboard BIOS update?
__________________

http://lh4.ggpht.com/nightwarp/R7YQuMGt-JI/AAAAAAAADoQ/KVuthG6qJfE/s400/Supportourtroops-2.jpg



Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2014, 10:51 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,434

My System Specs

Default

I talked to him. He says my chip is to new to work.

He says he has it fixed.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2015, 07:40 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,979

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r0k0 View Post
Fixed
What was the issue?
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4770k vs. 4790k attonbitusira CPU's and Motherboards 5 January 7, 2015 07:39 PM
[WTT] Intel i5 4670K + $$ for 4790K r0k0 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 December 31, 2014 12:09 PM
[WTB] 4790k and mobo TTC Buy/Sell & Trade 4 September 27, 2014 05:56 PM
i7 4790 or i7 4790k Orenji New Builds 4 July 5, 2014 07:15 PM