Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2014, 04:29 PM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: St-Augustin-de-Desmaures
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default Graphical glitches awayyyy!

Alright so I have a friend who has a built with a R9 280X and a 500 W PSU.

Question is, is the PSU good enough for it or would it need a bigger/better one.

The PSU in question is a EVGA 500W 80 Plus Bronze...

Also the GPU is a Sapphire Dual-X R9 280X 3GB BF4 Edition with a UEFI button.

He only gets graphical glitches and driver crashes in CoD: AW and Kingdom of Amalur. If he plays Battlefield 4 on Ultra settings at 1080p it works perfectly fine.

So is it really a GPU, PSU problem or is it the games themselves?

Last edited by ShinraCorp; November 26, 2014 at 04:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2014, 12:03 PM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 775

My System Specs

Default

I'd say PSU or the games themselves. 500w is under-powered for that GPU IMHO.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2014, 12:14 PM
Pelt's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Stewiacke, Nova Scotia
Posts: 357

My System Specs

Default

I wanted to find the reference so I could include it on this post but it escapes me at the moment, but the R9 280X needs a 600 watt PSU minimum. I remember this as I was shopping around for one a little over a month ago and for whatever reason that little stat stuck in my head. On another note, way way back in the day I had a Nvidia 4200 ti video card that worked wonderfully for the first week or so but then I started getting artifacts while gaming much in the same way you are describing, the cause as I discovered after much trial and error was the PSU. Unfortunately the discovery that it was the PSU came to late to prevent permanent damage to the card.

Found PSU reference at New Egg. This particular R9 280x requires a 750 watt PSU according to the system requirements listed under specifications for the card, but I'm sure it changes depending on who builds the card. Find the card your friend has and see what New Egg recommends for PSU.

SAPPHIRE 100363-4L Radeon R9 280X 3GB 384-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 CrossFireX Support Video Card Tri-X OC version - Newegg.ca
__________________

http://lh4.ggpht.com/nightwarp/R7YQuMGt-JI/AAAAAAAADoQ/KVuthG6qJfE/s400/Supportourtroops-2.jpg




Last edited by Pelt; November 27, 2014 at 12:27 PM. Reason: Found Reference for PSU requirements
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2014, 12:56 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 520
Default

There is a GPU PSU requirement list here:

https://forum-en.msi.com/faq/article...graphics-cards

According to that list, Radeon R9-280X - 30A and a 550W psu minimum. IMO, the important requirement is 30A on a single 12V rail. Reviews suggest that total system power consumption is generally less than 400W @ load. (including cpu, ssd). So a good quality 500W may be sufficient.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2014, 03:12 PM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: St-Augustin-de-Desmaures
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Desiato View Post
There is a GPU PSU requirement list here:

https://forum-en.msi.com/faq/article...graphics-cards

According to that list, Radeon R9-280X - 30A and a 550W psu minimum. IMO, the important requirement is 30A on a single 12V rail. Reviews suggest that total system power consumption is generally less than 400W @ load. (including cpu, ssd). So a good quality 500W may be sufficient.
I always though that the EVGA brand PSU were good, but I guess they're not good enough :P Well since Black Friday is tomorrow he'll probably find a good PSU on sale.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2014, 05:40 PM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,131

My System Specs

Default

What ever you do,make sure you allow some headroom in the PSU. Be prepared in the event of any future hardware additions or upgrades. The PSU is often overlooked when buying hardware for a build.
__________________
EVGA DG 87 -i7 5930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- EVGA x 2 1080 Ti Black SLI - Soundblaster X7 Sound Card- LG 34" Monitor-ATH AG1X Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 760 Graphical Bug: Black/White lines all around screen. NoCorsair Troubleshooting 7 March 5, 2014 06:40 AM
Site bugs/glitches gromacs Suggestions & Feedback 4 February 1, 2012 01:39 PM
Bf3 Fun times - Explosions and Glitches fhrope Gaming 13 December 3, 2011 12:23 PM
Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance graphical glitch chibi_man Gaming 12 January 23, 2010 09:16 AM
Hackintosh - Finder menu graphical glitch? zoob O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 July 16, 2009 09:10 PM