Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2014, 01:21 PM
WiseWilson's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Outskirts of the GTA
Posts: 139
Default Should I try Replacing this Laptops HDD

Was not sure weather to post this here or the mobile area if in wrong area sorry.

First off this is an Acer Aspire 5742-6602 i5-480m with intel hd graphics

I recently used a linux recovery dvd to yank off all the personal information she had not backed up.
Anyway got most of the info off and she left me the computer as it was useless to her and she had a replacement already.

I formated it reinstalled win 7 and discoverd it had a fair ammount of lag. Went to run hdd regen and it told me I needed to be in ide mode not achi.

The Bios suddenly was password protected, luckly popping the cmos battery reset it.

Started HDD regen and went to bed, checking it 15 hours later discovered it was 7% done and it had found 5000 errors, 3000 were fixed 2000 were not. As I am not going to wait a month for the scan to finish I am deciding the hdd is done.

The question is should I try to grab a <$40 hdd this black Friday C-Monday ? Or does the bios suddenly asking for a password mean there is probably more damaged hardware and I should just forget about it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2014, 08:31 AM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,284

My System Specs

Default

I would replace the hdd right away.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2014, 08:54 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,979

My System Specs

Default

That should still be a decent laptop. I think it would be worth the small risk of it being a bigger issue, and replace the HDD.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2014, 09:03 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,025
Default

Grab a cheap SSD and it should be a useful laptop.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2014, 09:19 PM
WiseWilson's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Outskirts of the GTA
Posts: 139
Default

Well I was leaning toward giving it a shot, now to just see what deals come up. Will let you know how it went once I have a spare hdd.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2014, 04:57 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

240 GB 730.. drop it in.. if there is other issues then you still have a good drive you can either sell on or use for something else.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
DeeraxTheCoolNemo: "I never preSs CaPLoCK I just HiT my keyS so Hard ThEY Crit"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2014, 11:46 AM
WiseWilson's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Outskirts of the GTA
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dzzope View Post
240 GB 730.. drop it in.. if there is other issues then you still have a good drive you can either sell on or use for something else.

Agreed and order placed, was trying to decide weather to get the 480 when it sold out. Decision made
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2014, 09:07 PM
WiseWilson's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Outskirts of the GTA
Posts: 139
Default

Well a faulty hdd seemed to be the issue. Win 7 is installed and works great got a 7.8 rating for hdd in the exp mode, though only a 4.4 for graphics . Ah well should still be usefull battery is good can get 5-8 hours of light duty. Be a good travel device. Thanks for the advice all.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing HAF-X fans Mayoo Air Cooling 2 March 23, 2012 07:31 AM
Replacing the HDD In My Studio 15 w/ a SSD AmuseMe Storage 5 March 18, 2012 03:00 PM
replacing psu fan? andyhan95 Power Supplies 6 March 6, 2012 03:36 PM
Replacing the fan on this, would it work? Blu Air Cooling 7 April 3, 2011 10:22 PM
Replacing 6yo Rig Adciv New Builds 8 February 18, 2010 09:33 PM