Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2014, 06:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Default CPU Multiplier will not move past 34.

I have been having this problem since yesterday. I tried to play around a little bit with memory overclocking for kicks and found I could not go past 1680, so be it. So I give it up and go back to default settings. But then for some reason I start having the problem where I cannot set the multiplier (CPU Ratio) past 34 and I had it at 46 for an overclock of 4.6Ghz before.. I tried resetting the BIOS, flashed it at least a few times to a prior version and then again to most current. I cannot think of anything else to do..

The Specs are as follows:
Intel Core i5 3570k
Asus P8P67 Motherboard
G.skill Ripjaws series 8GB Memory (4x2 kit)
Corsair CXM 600 Watt PSU

Will post more info as needed.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2014, 07:23 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 722

My System Specs

Default

Its because of your mother board, I had a same problem with a P67-UD4 mobo. I had updated the bios and everything but it will not let me change the multiplier on 3770K.

EDIT: if you had the multiplier at 46 on the same board, then I would recommend, clearing cmos, and then trying, did you also do a bios update?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2014, 07:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Your_friendly_gamer View Post
Its because of your mother board, I had a same problem with a P67-UD4 mobo. I had updated the bios and everything but it will not let me change the multiplier on 3770K.

EDIT: if you had the multiplier at 46 on the same board, then I would recommend, clearing cmos, and then trying, did you also do a bios update?
I did clear the CMOS and update the BIOS.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2014, 07:34 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,434

My System Specs

Default

Turn off power supply/ unplug/ hit power and reset buttons a fey times/ wait half hour
plug back in/ power on/ go to bios/

See if you can load your overclock.

Times when I hate UFFI BIOS

Try sequence again if it does not work.
when power is off Unplug all drives stata conetions
power on see if you can change bios.

Best off luck :)
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2014, 07:19 AM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 722

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kas Nagant View Post
I did clear the CMOS and update the BIOS.
In that case i would try going bsck to the older bios you had. May be the new version of bios wont let you change the miltiplier.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2014, 07:21 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Default

I have tried all that was suggested, so could it be the mother board simply acting up?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2014, 06:12 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,434

My System Specs

Default

Can we get a system spec.

I had this a few minutes ago.
Unplug Internet turn off wifi.
Keyboard, mouse, monitor, simple speakers or headphones


Save in Bios to a slot your configuration you want to run.

Try little things in BIOS.
One time it will just Kick in.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiplier and GHZ has mind of its own Painbringer71 Troubleshooting 3 April 20, 2012 09:41 AM
Multiplier Jumping in Cpu-z Blu Troubleshooting 28 April 2, 2011 04:35 PM
Is it possible to move past 1080p? muse108dc Off Topic 5 March 25, 2011 07:30 PM
Cpu multiplier evzonas CPU's and Motherboards 3 August 7, 2008 04:26 PM
E6850 Multiplier dukelod CPU's and Motherboards 3 August 28, 2007 11:49 AM