Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2014, 04:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 6
Default GPU Throttling and coil whine

Hi I have a 5970 and a 7970 both with waterblocks on them and I recently switched out the 5970 for the 7970 but I still get throttling, is it because I'm running too many displays? My set up is currently 2 1920x1080 60 hz monitors and 1 144 hz monitor. Previously on my 5970 I was running 3 60 hz displays and it was throttling really often and now with my 7970 I added in a 144hz display and it is throttling. Is the throttling for the 7970 caused by the 144 hz monitor or other problems? Also my 7970 has a real bad case of coil whine so I was hoping if anyone knows a fix to it.

EDIT
Specs,

CPU : i5 2500k 4.5ghz
Ram: 8gb corsair vengeance
PSU EVGA 650 Watt 80 plus gold
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V Pro

Last edited by amateur101; August 22, 2014 at 08:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2014, 05:33 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,754

My System Specs

Default

Post your system specs dude. PSU CPU etc
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2014, 05:57 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,979

My System Specs

Default

When is it throttling (in game/desktop/etc)?
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2014, 08:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 6
Default

Specs has been posted @CLShade

@Bond007
It starts to throttle outside of games usually watching videos but sometimes it throttles in games for a short bit.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2014, 10:02 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,754

My System Specs

Default

ATX12V / EPS12V
Full Modular
80 PLUS GOLD Certified
100 - 240 V 50/60 Hz
+3.3V@25A, +5V@25A, +12V1@20A, +12V2@20A, +12V3@20A, +12V4@20A,+5VSB@3A, -12V@0.8A

OK so like the pm I sent you earlier. The video card requires 70a on the 12volt rail. The whine is probably your PSU. Not the video card. Find the specs on the video card to confirm the amps required.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2014, 04:31 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,979

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amateur101 View Post
Specs has been posted @CLShade

@Bond007
It starts to throttle outside of games usually watching videos but sometimes it throttles in games for a short bit.
So there isn't an impact on gaming for the most part? When you say throttling to you mean things are stuttering, or that you have confirmed the video card is lowering frequency?
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2014, 06:55 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,754

My System Specs

Default

Ok I did some googling around. You need between 31-36amp rails minimum. If you want to OC you need more. I'm sorry your PSU is not sufficient @ 20amp. Good thing it started whining or you wouldn't have noticed.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2014, 10:17 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,069

My System Specs

Default

I never knew that you could get coil whine from insufficient PSU I learned something new :)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2014, 10:20 AM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: St-Augustin-de-Desmaures
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

Me neither, that'll surely help if someone comes and asks why it's making a sound :P
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2014, 12:57 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,979

My System Specs

Default

I am not so sure the psu is the only issue (though it may be), since he said the issue doesn't arise under load in game, but in video watching. That would push me toward a driver issue.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti

Last edited by Bond007; August 24, 2014 at 04:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card screetch/whine (Coil Whine?) Randylahey Video Cards 12 January 10, 2014 09:25 AM
MSI 7950 coil whine Messerschmitt Video Cards 3 August 30, 2013 10:04 PM
PSU Coil whine ? Kilauea Power Supplies 9 April 3, 2011 07:24 PM
Overclock to get rid of coil whine? Technokat Video Cards 0 December 2, 2009 01:35 PM
coil whine issues (pic) lexmark1 Power Supplies 11 May 29, 2009 07:19 AM