Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2014, 06:22 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 722

My System Specs

Default Enable Java plug in?

I am trying to do an online test and I keep getting this error:


Your computer does not meet our minimum requirements.
In order to run the Kenexa Prove It! Interactive Assessments and Training,
your computer must have Oracle's 1.4.2 or higher Java Virtual Machine installed.



•You can access Oracle's Java Virtual Machine by clicking here. Please follow the prompts to install Java for free on your machine. If you are not comfortable completing the installation on your own, you may wish to ask a member of your company's Computer Support division for help.
•After the installation is complete, please reboot your computer and log back into your testing site by following the instructions provided to you.
•If you have already installed Java 1.4.2 or higher and are still receiving this message, it may need to be enabled.



I ahve gone ahead and downloaded and installed Java, and made sure it was enabled in Explorer according to this:
https://java.com/en/download/help/enable_browser.xml

But I still get the same error? Can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2014, 06:25 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 673
Default

Java 1.4.2 is old as hell.
Try a different browser, I believe Chrome has java built in.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2014, 06:32 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 722

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by odis172 View Post
Java 1.4.2 is old as hell.
Try a different browser, I believe Chrome has java built in.
yea got it to work. Ty!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2014, 06:50 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,434

My System Specs

Default

Run Antivirus and mall-ware scans if you downloaded Java.

Everywhere I have downloaded Java from in the last wile has been Polluted.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2014, 07:22 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: GTA
Posts: 163
Default

You should only ever download Java from https://www.java.com/en/download/index.jsp

Anywhere else and you're just asking for trouble.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Java Exploit (TheRegister. UK) ZZLEE Reviews & Articles from the Web 4 August 28, 2012 07:41 PM
Java Chasingu O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 June 22, 2012 06:55 PM
adobe and java for my ssd? mo' power Storage 2 March 25, 2011 06:07 PM
Java Client Error - Not sure where to post. TokeR Troubleshooting 3 October 19, 2010 06:44 AM
Uncompiling .exe to java martin_metal_88 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 19 September 30, 2010 10:25 PM