Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2014, 08:40 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 37
Question ? about 3930K / ASrock extreme6 system, CMOS reset process

I have an ASRock Extreme 6 with a hex-core 3930K.

Also, the system has -
32 GB RAM
256 GB SSD for boot (c drive)
256 GB mapped to primary user desktop

It began acting erratically on me earlier this week. It was a hot day and my ISP was having problems with their radio. I have a wireless device that talks to their radio about 3 miles away. No rain involved.

During that time, I started un-plugging the Ethernet cable and also initiated a system backup via USB hard drive.

Anyway, I ended up with Error Code 69. I can't help but wonder if that is reflective of the ASRock staff sense of humor ...
It seems to be the equivalent of a BSOD.

I want to do a CMOS reset, but I've never done one.
I downloaded the ASRock docs, did web searches, etc.
However, I can't find clear instructions on how to do the reset.
It's a jumper on a 3 pin connector.

Do you just have the power off, move the jumper to 'CMOS reset', and turn the system back on ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2014, 08:54 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,255

My System Specs

Default

Turn computer off, unplug from wall. Hit your start button on case repeatedly until all power to motherboard is dissipated. (1-4 times) Move jumper over for 10-30 seconds then put jumper back to the original (run) position. Power up computer again. Note that you will most likely lose any settings made in bios that were not default settings.
__________________
heatware

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2014, 10:01 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 37
Thumbs up

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a reply !

It did not work.

I next removed the 8x4 GB modules, and put in a single Mushkin with black heat sink that I had bought for a dual Xeon/ EVGA SR2 workstation.

The Xeon had the triple channel, I bought 6 Mushkin's for it.

The memory I removed was a more generic Crucial DDR3.


IT FVCKING WORKED !

I had a boatload of aps that are long & involved to re-install. And 6 weeks since my last back-up.

Anyway, now I just have to give that system back its USB mouse, and I can move the laptop back to TV Duty.


Blow me away, real happy it worked. Only got 4 GB now, but that's OK.
It is a CAD system, see, I'm no longer speaking of it in the past tense.


When your main CAD workstation dies ...


LESSON LEARNED:

if I had had to bring the system to another tech for help, could they have recovered the data from the SSD ?

I'm wondering if, in the event of a significant system failure, it may be easier to recover data from a mechanical hard drive.

Specifically, the way I mapped the desktop to the 2nd SSD, God how would I recover that ???


Thought I'd add the URL
ASRock > X79 Extreme6

to make the thread more useful to other X79 Extreme6 users.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2014, 10:21 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,947

My System Specs

Default

Check the settings on your old memory. I'll bet they need 1.65V so if you set that in bios you may find it works fine with the old set.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
Lian-Li PC-011 Air (RGB) / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q
Dell Optiplex 3020 / Intel Core i3 i3-4160 / EVGA GT 1030 SC / 6GB DDR3 / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD/ Samsung 27" 1080p (Curved)
Dell G3 - i5 8300H / HP EX920 512GB NVME / 2X8GB HyperX Impact / 1TB SSHD / GTX 1050ti / N156HHE-GA1 120HZ Screen
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 3930k Sagath Price Check 14 June 13, 2012 03:55 PM
dual 5870 toxic cards, back to back overheating. dinmaster Video Cards 10 November 4, 2010 07:24 AM
I'm back on line! Dazmode Water Cooling 0 October 14, 2009 08:01 PM
Water line broke and then anouther line broke muse108dc Off Topic 3 March 28, 2009 07:34 AM