Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2014, 06:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Halifax
Posts: 164

My System Specs

Default Win7 32 bit - ram upgrade to 3GB or 4?

I'm trying to get whatever I can out of an aging computer with 2 GB of ram currently installed - with Win 7 32bit. If I upgrade to to 4GB, only 3.5 or so will be useable, but what if I upgrade to 3GB? Will I be able to use all of that? Or 3GB minus whatever the video takes? (I think the video uses 256 megs).

I don't want to upgrade to 3GB only to see 2.5 available.

hmm
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2014, 06:50 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,839

My System Specs

Default

You should be able to use the full 3GB.

That being said though, if you currently have a single stick of 2GB in there, you should buy another stick of 2GB so that you keep dual-channel capability and thus slightly faster memory performance.

Really though, Windows 7 should run fine on 2GB as well, depending what your doing.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win7 pagefile with SSD... BrainEater O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 September 26, 2011 04:08 PM
Win7 Home to PRO Upgrade Q&A The Quicken O/S's, Drivers & General Software 18 April 22, 2011 03:06 PM
AkG? What's the best way to TRIM in Win7? Delavan Storage 6 April 12, 2010 06:28 PM
Win7 Pro Upgrade Question. Dr_BenD_over O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 September 18, 2009 08:24 AM
Win7 on Raid 0 Saterial O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 July 2, 2009 08:51 PM