Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2014, 04:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 13
Default Gigabyte g1.sniper m5 help needed

Hey all,

I'll get right to it. I just did a build with a Gigabyte g1.sniper m5, i7 4770k Haswell, Corsair H100i, Seagate 660w Platinum PSU, EVGA GTX 780ti OC, 2 SSDs and one regular HDD, and 16 gigs of ram. I'm trying to add a sound card to the build and whenever I insert it into one of the slots, the PC simply won't power on at all. Is there something I'm doing wrong? I had my buddy check it out and he couldn't see anything wrong, but if anyone can venture any guesses, please do.
Thanks for the help!
(I ran the numbers here: Cooler Master Power Supply Calculator - Advance and it says I only need 545w or so.)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2014, 05:02 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,018
Default

what bios version?

also checked the second slot by using single card in that slot
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2014, 05:20 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,979

My System Specs

Default

And it works fine without the sound card?
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3770@4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, 4x4gb ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti SC, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, MX500 500gb
Away from home: Lenovo Legion Y530, 16gb, i7 8750H, GTX1050Ti
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2014, 07:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Works absolutely fine without the sound card.
Would the BIOS really be the culprit?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2014, 03:12 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,018
Default

can be the sound card is DOA or bios issue

have tried turn off onboard sound in bios
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2014, 01:33 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 493
Default

Have you tried the sound card in another computer? Been years...but I have seen a bad sound card cause a computer not to turn on.
__________________
They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2014, 08:44 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 13
Default

It's not the sound card, as it worked in my previous build.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte G1.Sniper 5 Review Comment Thread SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 1 January 8, 2014 06:07 PM
[FS] FS: Gigabyte G1.Sniper 2 Eldonko Buy/Sell & Trade 9 September 9, 2011 10:33 AM
GIGABYTE Unleashes G1.Sniper 2 Z68 Gaming Motherboard SKYMTL Press Releases & Tech News 1 August 4, 2011 10:03 PM